WAITTA INCITE 2017 Award Winners Congratulated By Minister

WAITTA INCITE 2017 Award Winners Congratulated By Minister

Western Australia Minister for Innovation and ICT Dave Kelly

WAITTA INCITE Awards Recognising ICT Innovation

Victor P Taffa

  • Excellence in the Western Australian ICT industry recognised
  • Winners will go on to compete in national awards

Western Australian information and communications technology (ICT) innovation was celebrated last night (June 16) at the 26th annual Western Australian Information Technology and Telecommunications Alliance (WAITTA) INCITE Awards.

“WAITTA INCITE Awards are important in recognising local talent and raising the profile of Western Australian ICT innovation on the national stage.” Minister for Innovation and ICT Dave Kelly said.

“Locally developed ICT products and technologies are not only helping industry and government operate more efficiently but are contributing to a more diverse economy and creating local jobs.”

Individual achievers, innovative products and ICT solutions were showcased across 11 award categories highlighting the breadth and depth of ICT innovation in Western Australia.

Dr. Vivienne Conway, Director of Web Key IT Pty Ltd, was crowned Achiever of the Year; and Matthew Macfarlane, co-founder of Yuuwa Capital, won the inaugural Pearcey Western Australian Entrepreneur of the Year. These awards recognise outstanding individual contributions to the Western Australia ICT industry.

Most Effective Government Solution award winner was EnergySafety, a division of the Department of Commerce, for eNotice. This is a web-based solution for lodging gas and electrical work notices, which has achieved savings for both industry and government by saving time, supporting faster inspections, and facilitating faster electricity and gas connections.

Winners and national finalists will compete in the Australian Information Industry Association national iAwards and/or the national Australian Computer Society Digital Disrupters Awards, later this year.