In Sport

Victoria Minister for Racing Martin Pakula

Harness Racing Victoria Board Appointments Announced

Victor P Taffa

Andrews Government has announced the reappointment of 6 members of the Board of Harness Racing Victoria, ensuring the industry continues to go from strength-to-strength.

Minister for Racing Martin Pakula announced the reappointment of:

  • Dale Monteith as Chair,
  • Rothacker Medallist recipient Elizabeth Clarke returns as Deputy Chair,
  • Veterinarian Catherine Ainsworth,
  • Marketing and communications expert Jane Brook,
  • Sports administrator and commentator Danny Frawley,
  • Experienced consultant Peter Watkinson.

“Each of these 6 board members have made valuable contributions to Harness Racing in Victoria and I congratulate each of them on their reappointment.” Minister for Racing Martin Pakula said.

“Harness racing industry is a major contributor to the Victorian economy and supports jobs in our regional cities and towns.”

Reappointments recognise the excellent work of the Board over the past 3 years that has seen Harness Racing Victoria return to profit and deliver a record total of prizemoney and bonuses to industry participants in the 2017-18 financial year.

Harness Racing Victoria Board has placed a greater focus on integrity and animal welfare within the industry, while broadening harness racing engagement with the wider community.

This has been achieved through the successful launch of the Trots Vision digital platform and holding the 2018 Inter Dominion Australasia’s premier pacing and trotting event.

Reappointed Board will continue to work with all industry participants to ensure harness racing continues to grow as a sustainable and viable industry.

Harness Racing industry in Victoria generates $600 Million in real gross added value to the Victorian economy and helps sustain more than 4,300 full time equivalent jobs locally.


Start typing and press Enter to search