In Agriculture

Northern Territory Minister for Primary Industry and Resources Paul   

Territory Trio In Line For Rural Women’s Award

Victor P Taffa

Three inspiring Territory rural women have been named finalists for the 2019 AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award.

This year’s finalists hail from across the Northern Territory, with the successful nominees based in:

  • Alice Springs,
  • Victoria Daly,
  • Darwin.

AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award is Australia’s leading award acknowledging and supporting the essential role women play in rural industries, businesses and communities.

It also identifies and supports emerging female leaders who have the desire, commitment and leadership potential to make a greater contribution to rural industries and their communities.

“I congratulate Donna, Zoe and Rebecca on their nominations and know that whoever is announced as the Northern Territory winner on 27 March will do the Territory proud.” Minister for Primary Industry and Resources Paul Kirby said.

“It also provides a platform to inspire and support Australian women to use and develop their skills to benefit their industries and communities.”

Northern Territory finalists are:

Donna Digby (Alice Springs)

Donna Digby would like to pilot a business development and leadership program for women in remote Australia to become InvestHER ready and build leadership and business skills, capabilities and confidence, encourage cross-sector networks and foster partnerships in the region.

Zoe Malone (Darwin)

Zoe Malone wants to work with grass-roots organisations to provide tools and information that will empower volunteers and community groups to take charge of their governance.

Rebecca Mohr-Bell (Victoria Daly)

Rebecca Mohr-Bell has identified a lack of financial literacy and business skills amongst young people working on farms and in regional communities, and would like to explore incentives, training packages or other initiatives that could teach financial literacy and skills to young people in an engaging and relevant way.

State and territory winners receive a $10,000 Westpac bursary for innovative ideas and projects, and access to professional development opportunities and alumni networks.

AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award Northern Territory winner will be announced on Wednesday 27 March at an event hosted at Parliament House, and will go on to represent the Territory in the national finals.


Start typing and press Enter to search