3 Greyhound Integrity Commissioners Appointed By Minister

3 Greyhound Integrity Commissioners Appointed By Minister

New South Wales Minister for Racing Paul Toole

Greyhound Integrity Commissioners Appointed

Victor P Taffa

Three commissioners to lead the new independent Greyhound Welfare and Integrity Commission have been appointed, Minister for Racing Paul Toole said today.

3 Greyhound Integrity Commissioners As Appointed:

  • Chief Commissioner Alan Brown,
  • Commissioner Clare Petre,
  • Commissioner John Keniry.

“These appointments mark a key step forward in a new era of greyhound racing based on the highest standards of integrity and animal welfare.” Minister Toole said.

“Three commissioners bring a diverse mix of skills and experience from within and outside the racing industry.”

Mr. Brown, a special counsel at Gillis Delaney Lawyers, has served as chairman of both Racing NSW and the Sydney Turf Club.

He will oversee the establishment of the Commission, including the transfer of regulatory and welfare functions from the reconstituted Greyhound Racing NSW (GRNSW), which will run the industry’s commercial operations.

“Mr. Brown’s strong legal background, racing industry experience and considered approach will deliver effective leadership and strategic direction.” Minister Toole said.

Minister Toole said the new Commission has broad investigative powers to regulate the industry, target wrongdoing and enforce animal welfare standards.

New Commission will now begin recruitment, focusing initially on a CEO and Chief Steward. It will also work with GRNSW on the orderly transfer of regulatory functions.

In May, the Government appointed former Premier Morris Iemma to chair a new board for Greyhound Racing NSW.

“Like Mr. Iemma, the three commissioners are individuals of high calibre. They are people the industry and the community can have full confidence in.” Minister Toole said.

Alan Brown

Alan Brown is an accomplished lawyer with wide experience in areas including banking, finance, commercial and property law. He also has extensive directorship and racing experience, becoming a director of the Sydney Turf Club in 1983 and serving as Chair from 2005 until 2008. He was then appointed to the Board of Racing NSW as Chair until 2011, before continuing as director until 2014.

Clare Petre

Clare Petre has broad leadership and governance experience, having served as the NSW Energy and Water Ombudsman from 1998 to 2014. She has also chaired the Consumer Advisory Panel with the Australian Securities and Investment Commission and is currently a board member of Energy Consumers Australia and City West Housing.

Dr. John Keniry AM

Dr. John Keniry AM was NSW Natural Resources Commissioner from 2011 to 2016. He is a chemical engineer who spent his early career in senior roles in the food industry, and currently chairs the Sydney Institute of Marine Science. Dr. Keniry has substantial directorship and governance experience, as well as a deep knowledge of the NSW greyhound industry from his role last year as Coordinator General of the Greyhound Transition Taskforce.

(NSW) New South Wales