In Health

Victoria Minister for Health Jenny Mikakos

Locals To Help Shape Flagship Community Hospitals

Victor P Taffa

10 new community hospitals for Victoria are a step closer, with local families set to help decide the services they will provide.

Minister for Health Jenny Mikakos today announced who will chair the community consultation committees, which will give local communities a say over the future of their hospital.

“We’re delivering billions of dollars in funding to ensure our hospitals can treat more patients than ever in the world-class new facilities that doctors and nurses need.” Minister for Health Jenny Mikakos said.

“These hospitals will reduce unnecessary travel and wait times at larger hospitals, while helping people get the care they need in their own community.”

Andrews Government is investing $675 Million to build or upgrade 10 new community hospitals close to major growth areas in:

  • Craigieburn,
  • Cranbourne,
  • Eltham area,
  • Fishermans Bend,
  • Pakenham,
  • Phillip Island,
  • Point Cook,
  • Sunbury,
  • Torquay,
  • City of Whittlesea.

Community Consultation Committees are being established so carers, patients, families and volunteers can work with health service providers to ensure each hospital meets the particular needs of locals.

Community hospitals will allow communities to access a range of public services including allied health such as physiotherapy and speech pathology, after-hours health care with access to pathology and imaging, women’s health including family planning, community mental health and alcohol and drug assessment.

They will also provide services like:

  • Chemotherapy,
  • Chronic disease management,
  • Day surgery,
  • Public dental,
  • Renal dialysis.

Construction is expected to start by 2022 and finish by 2024.

Community Consultation Committees will be chaired by the following members of Parliament:

  • Craigieburn- Ros Spence
  • Cranbourne– Pauline Richards
  • Eltham– Vicki Ward
  • Fishermans Bend– Nina Taylor
  • Pakenham– Jordan Crugnale
  • Philip Island– Jordan Crugnale
  • Point Cook– Ingrid Stitt and Jill Hennessy
  • Sunbury– Josh Bull
  • Torquay– Darren Cheeseman
  • Whittlesea– Danielle Green

Each Committee will include approximately 15 representatives from the local community and from key organisations such as local councils and health service providers.

EOI process to sit on Community Consultation Committees will open in the coming weeks.



EOI                 Expressions of Interest


Start typing and press Enter to search