Winners Of WA Youth Awards Announced On Saturday 9 April 2011

Winners Of WA Youth Awards Announced On Saturday 9 April 2011

Western Australia Minister for Youth Robyn McSweeney

Inspiring Young People Named As Finalists In 2011 WA Youth Awards

Victor P Taffa

The Outstanding Achievements of Western Australia’s young people were highlighted today with the selection of 32 Finalists for the 2011 WA Youth Awards.

In announcing the finalists, Youth Minister Robyn McSweeney said the quality of nominees clearly highlighted the breadth of work and civic commitment of young people across the State.

“The awards give these deserving finalists the chance to shine and demonstrate to the wider community that young people can and do make significant and valuable contributions to our society.” Mrs. McSweeney said.

“The WA Youth Awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge individuals and organisations achieving excellence and innovation in advancing the lives of young people. I congratulate all nominees for the positive difference they made in their local communities.”

There were 106 entries across eight award categories this year, covering a range of fields, including the arts; education; the environment; community service; and sport and recreation.

Each category winner will receive $2,000 and a trophy. One winner will also be named WA Young Person of the Year and receive return flights for two to a European destination, courtesy of Singapore Airlines and the Department for Communities’ Office for Youth.

Winners will be announced at the WA Youth Awards Gala Ceremony on Saturday, April 9, 2011, during National Youth Week.

“National Youth Week is the biggest annual celebration of young people on the Australian youth calendar.  The initiative provides an opportunity for the whole community to celebrate and recognise the value of all young Australians.” the Minister said.

2011 WA Youth Award finalists

Innovate! BHP Billiton Award for an outstanding youth-led group or organisation:

  • John Curtin Leadership Academy (Bentley)
  • Headspace Fremantle Youth Reference Group (Fremantle)
  • ‘The Crew’ The Seen and Heard Programme (Mundaring)
  • Gnowangerup Hub Youth Group (Gnowangerup).

Motivate! Woodside Award for inspirational role models:

  • James Pengelley (Maylands)
  • William Holmes (Mandurah)
  • Jeremy McClure (Mount Pleasant)
  • Peter Hall (Ocean Reef).

Recreate! Office for Youth Award for excellence in sport and recreation:

  • Danielle Courtney (Stratton)
  • Zelfy Nazary (Katanning)
  • Eloise Welsh (Bunbury)
  • Joseph Davies (Kununurra).

Create! Propel Youth Arts Award for excellence in the arts:

  • Brittany Moxham (Karratha)
  • Justin Martins (Carine)
  • David Sullivan (South Hedland)
  • Brendan Backhouse (Broome).

Educate! Edith Cowan University Award for leadership:

  • Emerson Lievense (Anketell)
  • Reece Harley (Darch)
  • Natasha Moore (Wiluna)
  • Kristy Tomlinson (Winthrop).

Activate! Department of Environment and Conservation Award for an individual or group environmental champion:

  • Esperance District High School Department of Environment and Conservation Bushrangers (Esperance)
  • Jake Pickersgill  (Lynwood)
  • Laura Triner (Belmont)
  • Alain Bartels (Duncraig).

Participate! Commissioner for Children and Young People’s Award for young people aged 12 to 17 who have made positive changes in their community:

  • Cheviena Hansen (Beckenham)
  • Jaco Becker (Kenwick, now based in Thailand)
  • Sarah Brown (Parkerville)
  • Mohammad Sherifi (Banksia Grove).

Minister for Youth’s Most Outstanding Youth Worker Award for an individual of any age who has made a significant contribution to their local community:

  • Keith Woods (Bunbury)
  • Peter Darch (Mandurah)
  • Ashley Guy (Myaree)
  • Alexis Bartz (Bentley).