Western Australia State Election 2017 Final Outcome

Western Australia State Election 2017 Final Outcome

Polling Day Saturday 11 March 2017

Western Australia Electoral Commission

Final Makeup Of The Western Australia Parliament

Victor P Taffa

Labor leader Mark McGowan has been invited to form a Government by Her Excellency Kerry Sanderson AC, Governor of Western Australia, following the declaration of all 59 seats in the Legislative Assembly and 36 Regions in the Legislative Council. 

Barnett Government went into the 2017 State Election with a large majority to defend. Based on the ‘Its Time’ factor the Liberal National Government led by Premier Colin Barnett lost many seats to the Labor Party which looked safe on paper.

Treasurer in the Barnett Government Mike Nahan has been elected Liberal Party Leader and Opposition Leader.

Labor Party has won 41 seats and won an overwhelming majority with large swings in many seats. 30 seats are required in the Legislative Assembly to form a Government.

Following the 2017 State Election the final makeup of the 59 seat Legislative Assembly is as follows:


Legislative Assembly

Party                           Seats Held

                                New                Old*

ALP                            41                    21

LIB                             13                    31

NAT                            5                      7

Total Seats                 59                    59

*2013 State Election Outcome

Results are final in every district


Western Australia State Election 2017 Legislative Assembly Districts Declared Final Results

Following the declaration of all 59 Legislative Assembly Districts in the Western Australia State Election as announced by the Western Australia Electoral Commission, the list of districts in order of margin* is as follows:

Governing party sits on the right hand side of the Speaker in the Parliament.

Seats listed under Government are made up of Labor held seats. Seats listed under Opposition are made up of Liberal and National held seats.

Government                                                   Opposition

Armadale        ALP                25.17%            Central Wheatbelt       NAT                22.57%

Warnbro          ALP                23.72%            Vasse                           LIB                 14.69%

Rockingham    ALP                23.37%            Roe                              NAT                14.41%

Fremantle        ALP                23.05%            Moore                          NAT                13.92%

Bassendean     ALP                21.50%            Warren-Blackwood     NAT                13.41%

Butler              ALP                19.45%            Cottesloe                     LIB                 13.27%

Mirrabooka      ALP                19.18%            Churchlands                LIB                 13.22%

Kwinana          ALP                18.08%            North West Central     NAT                9.54%

Cannington     ALP                18.05%            Bateman                     LIB                 9.46%

Mandurah        ALP                18.00%            Carine                          LIB                 9.05%

Maylands        ALP                17.86%            Nedlands                     LIB                 8.28%

West Swan      ALP                17.13%            South Perth                 LIB                 7.15%

Girrawheen     ALP                16.71%            Kalgoorlie                   LIB                 6.18%

Victoria Park   ALP                16.48%            Scarborough                LIB                 5.56%

Cockburn        ALP                15.93%            Riverton                      LIB                 4.36%

Thornlie           ALP                15.79%            Hillarys                        LIB                 4.09%

Willagee          ALP                15.49%            Geraldton                    LIB                 1.33%

Collie-Preston ALP                14.71%            Dawesville                  LIB                 0.69%

Swan Hills       ALP                14.52%

Midland          ALP                13.05%

Kimberley       ALP                13.01%

Perth                ALP                11.82%

Morley             ALP                11.43%

Belmont          ALP                11.40%

Bunbury          ALP                10.85%

Forrestfield     ALP                9.43% 

Southern River ALP               7.86%

Wanneroo        ALP                7.25%

Baldivis           ALP                7.22%

Balcatta           ALP                5.83%

Darling Range ALP                5.80%

Albany                 ALP                5.10%

Mount Lawley     ALP                4.04%

Bicton                  ALP                2.93%

Burns Beach    ALP                2.53%

Kalamunda      ALP                2.50%

Pilbara             ALP                2.28%

Murray-Wellington     ALP    1.39%

Jandakot          ALP                1.02%

Kingsley          ALP                0.67%

Joondalup        ALP                0.60%


Seats Held By ALP:                          41

Seats Held By LIB:                            13

Seats Held By NAT:                           5

Total No. Of Seats:                            59

*Margin is the swing required for a district to change hands on a two candidate basis based on the 2017 State Election result.


Legislative Council

Overall Summary

Party                       Seats Won

Labor                           14

Liberal                         9

Nationals                     4

The Greens                  4

PHO                            3

Shooters & Fishers      1

Liberal Democrat        1

Total Seats                 36


Party Representation By Regions

Agricultural Region

Party                         Seats Won

Labor                           2

Nationals                     2

Liberal                         1

Shooters & Fishers      1

Total Seats                 6


East Metropolitan Region

Party               Seats Won

Labor                           3

Liberal                         1

The Greens                  1

PHO                            1

Total Seats                 6


Mining & Pastoral Region

Party               Seats Won

Labor                           2

Liberal                         1

Nationals                     1

PHO                            1

The Greens                  1

Total Seats                 6


North Metropolitan Region

Party               Seats Won

Liberal                         3

Labor                           2

The Greens                  1

Total Seats                 6


South Metropolitan Region

Party               Seats Won

Labor                           3

Liberal                         2

Liberal Democrat        1

Total Seats                 6


South West Region

Party               Seats Won

Labor                           2

Liberal                         1

Nationals                     1

The Greens                  1

PHO                            1

Total Seats                 6



ALP    Australian Labor Party

LIB     Liberal Party

NAT    National Party

PHO    Pauline Hanson’s One Nation


Results are final for every Legislative Assembly District

Results are final for every Legislative Council Region