In Elections

Federal Election 21 August 2010

WA Australian Electoral Commission Officer Peter Kramer

Western Australian Senators Have Been Decided

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for Western Australia was completed earlier today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies for Western Australia are (in order of their election):

  1. Mathias CORMANN (Liberal)
  2. Chris EVANS (Australian Labor Party)
  3. Chris BACK (Liberal)
  4. Glenn STERLE (Australian Labor Party)
  5. Judith ADAMS (Liberal)
  6. Rachel SIEWERT (The Greens)

The Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia, Peter Kramer said that the Senate count had involved the keying-in of votes into a computerised system, and today an automated process was used to distribute preferences and determine the six elected candidates.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates.” Mr. Kramer said.

“Approximately 96.9% of voters cast their ballot Above-The-Line on the Senate ballot paper while 3.1% voted Below-The-Line.” Mr. Kramer said.

The successful candidates were formally declared elected at 11.00 am, Wednesday 15 September 2010, at: Level 3, 166 Murray Street, Perth.


Start typing and press Enter to search