In Elections

Polling Day Saturday 20 October 2018

Australian Electoral Commission

Wentworth Voters Have Their Say

Victor P Taffa

Australian Electoral Commission has released a list of duly nominated candidates for the Wentworth Federal By-Election to be held on Saturday 20 October 2018.

16 Nominated Candidates In Ballot Paper Draw Order


Candidate                          Party Affiliation Or Independent

CALLANAN, Robert             Katter’s Australian Party

KANAK, Dominic Wy           The Greens

HIGSON, Shayne                   Voluntary Euthanasia Party

GEORGANTIS, Steven         Australian People’s Party

MURRAY, Tim                      Labor

FORSYTH, Ben                     Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party

ROBINSON, Tony                 Australian Liberty Alliance

GUNNING, Samuel Joseph    Liberal Democrats

SHARMA, Dave                    Liberal

VITHOULKAS, Angela        Independent

DOYLE, Deb                          Animal Justice Party

LEONG, Andrea                    Science Party

HEATH, Licia                         Independent

KELDOULIS, Barry              The Arts Party

PHELPS, Kerryn                    Independent

DUNNE, Kay                         Sustainable Australia


Wentworth Division Name Derivation

Division named in honour of William Charles Wentworth, 1790 –1872. Wentworth accompanied Blaxland and Lawson on their 1813 crossing of the Blue Mountains and advocated the establishment of free and representative government.

First election this name was used at: 1901 Federal Election


Federation Division Of Wentworth

Australia became a Federation of States on 1 January 1901. Wentworth is a Federation seat created at the commencement of Federation.


Previous Members For Wentworth

Member                  Party/Independent       Term Of Office

Seat Currently Vacant

Turnbull, M                 LP                                           2004–2018*

King, P                         LP                                           2001–2004

Thomson, A                LP                                           1995–2001

Hewson, J                   LP                                           1987–1995

Coleman, P                 LP                                           1981–1987

Ellicott, R J                 LP                                           1974–1981

Bury, L H E                LP                                           1956–1974

Harrison, E J               UAP/LP                                  1931–1956

Marks, W M                NP                                           1919–1931

Kelly, W H                  FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT   1903–1919

McMillan, W              FT                                           1901–1903

*Malcolm Turnbull resigned as the member for Wentworth on 31 August 2018.


2016 Federal Election Result

Two Candidate Preferred (TCP) For Wentworth (NSW)

Candidate                            Party               Votes           Margin           Margin (%)

TURNBULL, Malcolm           Liberal             56,971             29,850             67.75%

HUGHES, Evan                     Labor               27,121             -29,850            32.25%



LP                   Liberal Party

UAP                United Australia Party

NP                   Nationalist Party

ANTI-SOC     Anti-Socialist Party

FT                    Free Trade Party

AEST              Australian Eastern Standard Time

TCP                 Two Candidate Preferred

NSW               New South Wales


Start typing and press Enter to search