In Resources

Western Australia Minister for Water Dave Kelly

Waterwise Councils Take The Lead On Water Sustainability

Victor P Taffa

  • City of Subiaco receives top recognition as a Platinum Waterwise Council
  • 13 Waterwise Councils recognised as Gold
  • 3 new councils endorsed as Waterwise, all from regional Western Australia

Councils from across Western Australia were today celebrated for saving water and demonstrating waterwise leadership in their communities.

Water Minister Dave Kelly recognised 16 Waterwise Councils at the Water Corporation’s Waterwise Business Recognition event this morning.

“As Minister for Water, it is great to see a whole of government focus on creating more waterwise communities.” Minister for Water Dave Kelly said.


“Waterwise Council Program continues to be a key part of this goal, with councils implementing water sensitive practices. Councils also lead by example, demonstrating and promoting water saving behaviours in their communities.”

City of Subiaco took out top honours, receiving Platinum recognition for its efforts as a Waterwise Council. The City showed innovation and leadership to embed waterwise principles into its operations, and an ongoing commitment to create a water sensitive community through its projects and programs.

A total of 13 metropolitan Waterwise Councils received Gold recognition and 3 regional councils Shires of Denmark, Northam and Goomalling, were endorsed as Waterwise Councils for the first time.

Waterwise Council Program is run through a partnership between the Water Corporation and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation, and supports councils to improve water efficiency in their operations and in their communities.

In 2017, the recognition scheme was aligned to reflect the framework for a Water Sensitive City, which focuses on a whole of water cycle approach to urban water management.

Councils participating in the program have saved as much as 15 % of their regular water use, with consistent reductions in per person water use within their local government area.


List of councils receiving recognition or endorsement as a Waterwise Council:

Platinum Waterwise Council

Awarded to a council demonstrating innovation and achievements over and above Gold requirements, across all Water Sensitive City goal areas. To be eligible, the council must be an endorsed Gold Waterwise Council.

  • City of Subiaco

Gold Waterwise Councils

Awarded to councils for demonstrating 10 actions across all Water Sensitive City goal areas:

  • City of Bayswater;
  • City of Canning;
  • City of Cockburn;
  • City of Joondalup;
  • City of Kwinana;
  • City of Mandurah;
  • City of Perth;
  • City of Subiaco;
  • City of Swan;
  • City of Vincent
  • Town of Bassendean;
  • Town of Cambridge;
  • Town of Victoria Park.

Newly endorsed Waterwise Councils

Councils that have met endorsement requirements:

  • Shire of Denmark;
  • Shire of Goomalling;
  • Shire of Northam.

Start typing and press Enter to search