In Planning

Western Australia Minister for Planning John Day

Restructure Of WAPC Committees

Victor P Taffa

Western Australia Minister for Planning John Day has announced the Western Australian Planning Commission (WAPC) has completed its priority restructure of committees in line with the State Government’s initiative to reduce and streamline public sector committees.

“In June 2009, the Premier requested all government agencies review, and where appropriate reduce, the number of boards and committees to improve operational efficiencies, reduce costs and to make Government more responsive to the needs of Western Australians.” Mr. Day said.

“The WAPC has performed a strategic review of their committees to determine the role and effectiveness of each committee and to ensure that resources are focused in the right area.”





“The review has resulted in the discharge of 13 committees where it was considered they had either fulfilled their purpose or were no longer required. Any function for which a discharged committee had responsibility has been incorporated into a revised committee structure or alternative arrangements have been put in place.”

The discharged committees are:

  • Araluen Park Board of Management
  • Environment and Natural Resources Management Committee
  • Goldfields, Esperance Regional Planning & Infrastructure Coordinating Committee
  • Greater Bunbury Region Planning Committee
  • Metropolitan Region Planning Committee
  • Parliament House Precinct Committee
  • Priorities Committee
  • Public Utilities Services Committee
  • School Sites Planning Committee
  • Sustainability Committee
  • WAPC/WALGA Committee
  • Western Victoria Quay Advisory Committee
  • Whiteman Park Board of Management.

The Minister said the WAPC had also made some long standing committees advisory as part of the restructure.

“These committees will continue to play a role in establishing positive planning outcomes but, rather than having scheduled meeting dates and times, they will only convene to discuss issues of strategic importance for the State as and when required.” Mr. Day said.

These committees are:

  • Coastal Planning and Coordination Council
  • Sustainable Transport Committee
  • Five metropolitan district planning committees.

The WAPC has retained the following committees:

  •  Infrastructure Coordinating Committee
  • Statutory Planning Committee
  • Executive, Finance and Property Committee
  • Central Perth Planning Committee
  • Six regional planning committees:
  • South-West, Peel, Kimberley, Pilbara, Gascoyne and Mid-West.

Start typing and press Enter to search