In Sport

Toyota Australian Football League

Victor P Taffa

In what was one of the most pulsating, nerve racking, seesawing, exciting Grand Finals the Sydney Swans defeated Hawthorn Hawks to claim its 5th Premiership.


Hawthorn led at Quarter Time with a 19 point lead that was not a dominating performance. Sydney piled on 6 goals to open up a 16 point lead at half time.

Hawthorn answered with 5 goals to trail by 1 point at three quarter time. Hawthorn grabbed two quick goals early in the final quarter to open up an 11 point lead. Sydney was not done for as they kicked two goals while Kieran Jack levelled the scores. Adam Goodes goaled at the 22 minute mark. At the 31 minute mark Nick Malceski snaps a great goal that sealed the premiership for Sydney.

 G B T

Sydney                        14.7.91


Hawthorn                   11.15.81

Played at the MCG

Official Crowd: 99,683


Start typing and press Enter to search