In Sport

Tasmania Opposition Leader Will Hodgman

Congratulations To The Tassie Tigers

Victor P Taffa

An ecstatic State Opposition Leader Will Hodgman has sent Congratulations to the Tasmanian Tigers Cricket Team for their magnificent victory today in the Sheffield Shield Final.

“Under the superb leadership of Captain George Bailey and Coach Tim Coyle Tasmania has become one of the most dominant forces in Australian cricket, in all forms of the game.”

“The Tigers have had an outstanding season, and this victory is richly deserved.” Mr. Hodgman said.


“Ed Cowan is a deserving man of the match following his fighting century which was pivotal in the win.”

“This is a great moment for Tasmanian sport, and I congratulate every member of the Tigers team, the support staff, and Cricket Tasmania.” Mr. Hodgman said.

Sheffield Shield Cricket Competition Points Of Interest:

  • The Sheffield Shield is contested by all 6 Australian States.
  • The Sheffield Shield was first contested in Season 1892-93;
  • New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia entered the Competition in 1892-93;
  • Queensland entered the Competition in 1926-27
  • Western Australia entered the Competition in 1947-48
  • Tasmania entered the Competition in 1977-78
  • New South Wales has won 45 Sheffield Shield Titles
  • Victoria has won 28 Sheffield Shield Titles
  • Western Australia has won 15 Sheffield Shield Titles
  • South Australia has won 13 Sheffield Shield Titles
  • Queensland has won 6 Sheffield Shield Titles
  • Tasmania has won 2 Sheffield Shield Titles

Start typing and press Enter to search