Smart Schools Awards Announced

Smart Schools Awards Announced

Northern Territory Minister for Education Robyn Lambley

Encouraging Excellence In Our Schools

Victor P Taffa

Education Minister, Robyn Lambley has announced this year’s finalists for the 2012 Northern Territory Smart Schools Awards.

Ms. Lambley made the announcement at Millner Primary School, last year’s winner of the Innovation in Indigenous Education award.

“The Smart Schools Awards recognise excellence in our schools.” Ms. Lambley said.

“It’s important to celebrate the achievements of our schools and I would like to congratulate all of this year’s finalists.”

“The Mills Government supports innovation in our schools and new ideas that can contribute to a better education for all Territory children, no matter where they live.”

“The Smart Schools Awards consist of eight categories recognising excellence in; community engagement, early childhood, improving literacy and numeracy, improving school attendance, innovation in Indigenous education, partnering, senior secondary outcomes and student inclusion, wellbeing and special needs.”

“It is especially fantastic to see a real spread of finalists from all over the Territory.” Ms. Lambley said.

“For example, Ramingining, Urapunga and Ngukurr are just some of several remote communities recognised for their hard work and innovative programs.”

“This morning, it was great to learn more about Millner Primary School’s winning project from last year; Educating Remote Indigenous Children in Urban Settings.”

“The school used their prize money to buy an extra 30 iPads to use as learning tools and to engage students.” Ms. Lambley said.

“This wouldn’t be possible without the support of the awards sponsors; businesses and organisations in the community who recognise the importance of quality education.”

“This year’s ceremony will be held on October 20th and I wish all the finalists good luck.” Ms. Lambley said.