Simonne Shepherd To Lead Northern Territory Department Of Tourism And Culture

Simonne Shepherd To Lead Northern Territory Department Of Tourism And Culture

Northern Territory Minister for Tourism and Culture Lauren Moss

New Tourism And Culture CEO Announced

Victor P Taffa

Minister for Tourism and Culture, Lauren Moss today announced the appointment of Ms. Simonne Shepherd to the role of CEO of the Northern Territory’s Department of Tourism and Culture.

Ms. Shepherd brings to the role a proven background in diversifying tourism markets, developing strong strategic partnerships and providing innovative executive leadership, both in Australia and internationally.


She has built her career working in culturally diverse destinations and organisations and has held executive roles across multiple Australian jurisdictions including the ACT at Australian Capital Tourism and NSW at Destination NSW.

Most recently, she held a senior advisory role to the Department of Culture and Tourism in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, advising on a range of strategic tourism and cultural projects aimed at building capacity and growing the economic contribution of the sectors, in an economy traditionally highly reliant on oil and gas.

Ms. Shepherd has strong existing relationships within Federal government tourism agencies through her long standing membership on the Federal Standing Committee on Tourism and brings to the Territory her extensive knowledge and existing network of partnerships.

She is keenly looking forward to commencing in her new role and working with key stakeholders to achieve positive outcomes across all areas of the Department’s responsibilities.

Ms. Shepherd is expected to commence in the last week of June 2018.

Minister Moss took the opportunity to thank Michael Tennant for acting as Chief Executive Officer over the last five months.

“There are a number of key initiatives rolled out during this time including the record $103 million Turbocharging Tourism package and I thank him for his leadership of the Department.” Minister Moss said.


ACT                Australian Capital Territory

NSW               New South Wales