Short List Of 6 For Flinders Street Station Competition

Short List Of 6 For Flinders Street Station Competition

Victoria Minister for Major Projects Dr Denis Napthine

Fantastic Mix Of Local And International Talent Shortlisted For Flinders St Station Design Competition

Victor P Taffa

The shortlisted architects for the Flinders Street Station Design Competition represent a fantastic mix of local and international talent, the Minister for Major Projects Dr Denis Napthine announced today.

“This competition has always been about finding the best local and international talent to reinvigorate Melbourne’s iconic Flinders Street Station precinct and looking at this shortlist Ithink we’ve managed to do that.” Dr. Napthine said.

The shortlisted designers are: (listed in order of registration)

  • Ashton Raggatt McDougall (Melbourne)
  • John Wardle Architects + Grimshaw (Australia and UK)
  • HASSELL + Herzog & de Meuron (Melbourne and Switzerland)
  • NH Architecture (Melbourne)
  • Eduardo Velasquez + Manuel Pineda + Santiago Medina (Columbia via University of Melbourne)
  • Zaha Hadid Architecture & BVN Architecture (UK and Melbourne)

“The short list covers some of the world’s best architects such as Hassell + Herzog & De Meuron and Zaha Hadid, renowned local firms Ashton Raggatt McDougall and NH Architecture and emerging talents Eduardo Velasquez, Manuel Pineda and Santiago Medina from Columbia.”

“Between them, this group is responsible for some of Melbourne and the world’s most renowned buildings including Hamer Hall, Beijing’s National Stadium used in the 2008 Olympics and Rome’s Museum of XXI Century Arts.”

“Judging from their previous work this is a very exciting group of architects and I am looking forward to finding out more about their visions for the Flinders Street Station precinct.”

“The shortlisted entrants now have six months to develop their ideas and attend various technical briefings and workshops before Stage 2 of the competition closes on 4 July 2013.”

“Following this, final designs will be put on public display for the people’s choice voting while the competition jury meets again to select a winner.” Dr. Napthine said.

Competition jury chair and Victorian State Government Architect Professor Geoffrey London said the jury was impressed by the immense amount of work undertaken by the 117 submitting teams.

“Given the complexity and scale of the design challenge, the high overall quality of submissions made the jury’s task of short-listing a difficult one.” Professor London said.

“However after carefully applying the competition evaluation criteria, the jury is confident that the six short-listed teams represent the strongest propositions for the redevelopment of this precinct, much-loved Melbourne icon and intensely used transport hub.”

“The jury looks forward, with great anticipation, to see how each of the six Stage 1 design concepts evolves over the months ahead.” Professor London said.