In Elections

Federal Election 21 August 2010

Australian Electoral Commission

Victor P Taffa

Seats To Watch-Northern Territory

How is status defined?

Seat status is based on the two-party preferred vote count (TPP). The two-party preferred vote refers to the number of votes received by the Labor and Coalition candidates after a full distribution of preferences.


The AEC classifies seats using the following business rules: when a party receives less than 56 % of the vote the seat is classified as ‘marginal’ (M); between 56-60 % it is classified as ‘fairly safe’ (FS) and more than 60 % is classified ‘safe’ (S).

2007 Election

Division ALP        LP/NP    Elected                   TPP

Lingiari                  61.16      38.84      ALP        S              ALP

Solomon                50.19      49.81     ALP        M            ALP



Start typing and press Enter to search