Season 2016 Toyota AFL Finals Series Grand Final Preview

Season 2016 Toyota AFL Finals Series Grand Final Preview

Western Bulldogs Into First Grand Final Since 1961

Victor P Taffa

After waiting 55 years to appear in a Grand Final the Western Bulldogs will take on Sydney Swans next Saturday 1 October 2016 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) to decide who will be AFL (Australian Football League) Premiers for Season 2016.


Both sides will be evenly matched however it is Western Bulldogs who will have the edge having defeated West Coast in Western Australia then Hawthorn who were Premiers for the last 3 years and now have come to Sydney and knocked off Greater Western Sydney in a match that went down to the wire where both sides went toe-to-toe in a four quarter struggle.



Football always throws up good omens on who will win the Grand Final.


Uncle Fred Bacash And Footscray

Editor Victor P Taffa had an Uncle Fred Bacash who had a Pub in Footscray in 1954 when they won the 1954 VFL (Now AFL) Grand Final.

Needless to say Uncle Fred was thrilled at Footscray’s win.

Since 1925 Footscray have won the 1954 Grand Final and runners-up in 1961 only.

Many years later Footscray Bulldogs renamed themselves as the Western Bulldogs as Footscray is in Melbourne’s western suburbs.

Western Bulldogs deserves to win the Grand Final for the long suffering supporters of Western Bulldogs nee Footscray and also Editor Victor P Taffa’s late Uncle Fred Bacash.


Easton Wood No. 10

Editor Victor P Taffa currently lives in Sydney and along with AFL follows and has played Rugby Union. His favourite Rugby Union Club is Eastwood.

There could be no better omen for the Western Bulldogs in having a Player named Easton Wood where Editor Victor P Taffa’s favourite Rugby Union Club is Eastwood.

Easton Wood is a medium sized running defender who has the ability to play on a range of different opponents. The athletic defender was recruited to the Bulldogs through the 2007 AFL National Draft with the Club’s third round selection (pick 43 overall).


Club Name Changes

Both Sydney Swans and Western Bulldogs have had name changes over the course of their history.


Sydney Swans nee South Melbourne

Sydney Swans originally were South Melbourne Swans having entered the Victorian Football League (VFL) in 1897 and relocated to Sydney and became the Sydney Swans in 1982.

Western Bulldogs nee Footscray

Western Bulldogs originally were Footscray Bulldogs having entered the VFL competition in 1925 which was the forerunner to the AFL competition. Footscray became the Western Bulldogs in 1996 in the same year that the VFL became the AFL competition.

In the name change stakes the good omens are with Western Bulldogs to defeat Sydney Swans as the Western Bulldogs did not relocate to another Capital City and changed their name in the same year that the VFL became the AFL.


Premiership Success:

Should Western Bulldogs defeat Sydney Swans in the 2016 AFL Grand Final they will have broken a 62 year Premiership Drought whereas Sydney Swans took 72 years to break their Premiership Drought.

A good omen for Western Bulldogs is that Sydney Swans lost the 1996 Grand Final in the year that the VFL became the AFL and that Footscray Bulldogs became the Western Bulldogs.

Sydney Swans nee South Melbourne


1909, 1918, 1933, 2005, 2012,


1899, 1907, 1912, 1914, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1945, 1996, 2006, 2014,

Western Bulldogs nee Footscray