In Education

Western Australia Minister for Education and Training Sue Ellery

New Schools Recruited To Key Literacy Teaching Initiative

Victor P Taffa

  • More schools join State Government literacy teaching initiative
  • Centre for Excellence in Explicit Teaching of Literacy provides professional learning and resources for teachers
  • Teachers share expertise with colleagues to benefit students

More than 20 public schools have been chosen to join a key initiative to enhance Western Australian primary students’ literacy skills.

“I am pleased to see the continued roll-out of our Centre for Excellence in Explicit Teaching of Literacy.” Minister for Education and Training Sue Ellery said.

“This is about providing Western Australian primary students with the best possible learning opportunities and equipping them with key literacy skills and knowledge to set them up for bright futures.”

Schools were selected as internship schools in round three of the Centre for Excellence in Explicit Teaching of Literacy program. This brings the total number of schools involved to 60.

Centre, run in partnership with Curtin University and identified schools, forms part of a wider $3.5 Million State Government commitment to improve literacy teaching in Western Australia public schools.

Centre studies teaching methods of exemplary teachers who have achieved strong and sustained improvement in students’ reading and writing skills.

Through the internship program, teachers observe these exemplary teachers in the classroom to see how they use explicit teaching practices.

Teachers in the internship program will then develop and share knowledge with their own colleagues and those in other schools.

Round Three Centre For Excellence In Explicit Teaching Of Literacy Internship Schools:

Baldivis Gardens Primary School

Baynton West Primary School

Bayswater Primary School

Dowerin District High School

Ellen Stirling Primary School

Esperance Primary School

Hocking Primary School

Hollywood Primary School

Kyilla Primary School

Leda Primary School

Mindarie Primary School

North Fremantle Primary School

Rivergums Primary School

South Lake Primary School

Spencer Park Primary School

Springfield Primary School

Waikiki Primary School

Wandina Primary School

West Busselton Primary School

Wickepin Primary School

Yokine Primary School


Start typing and press Enter to search