Responsible Gambling Fund Trust Board Members Announced By Minister

Responsible Gambling Fund Trust Board Members Announced By Minister

New South Wales Minister for Racing Paul Toole

Government Bolsters Responsible Gambling Fund

Victor P Taffa

9 highly-qualified experts in public health, law, government, business and social research will advise the New South Wales Government on responsible gambling.

Minister for Racing Paul Toole said the reconstituted Responsible Gambling Fund (RGF) Trust will play a key role in helping the Government develop evidence-based and innovative approaches to prevent and reduce gambling harms.

“Responsible Gambling Fund exists to support responsible gambling and minimise the risk of gambling-related harm in the community.” Minister Toole said.

“We’re fortunate to have such high-calibre people with advice on issues including research, community education, policies and intervention programs such as support and counselling services.”

Experienced lawyer John Dalzell will chair the Trust. The other appointees are psychiatrist Dr. Clive Allcock, gambling researcher Professor Paul Delfabbro, accountant Elizabeth Lyne, social researcher Mark McCrindle, public policy executive Janett Milligan and public health academic Associate Professor Joel Negin.

Liquor, Gaming & Racing Deputy Secretary Paul Newson and mental health specialist Dr. Greg Hugh will continue as trustees.

A new Office of Responsible Gambling will support the Trust, drive innovative policy and implement programs and initiatives to prevent and reduce gambling harm.

RGF, funded by a levy on The Star casino, will this year allocate $18 Million for initiatives to promote responsible gambling and address problem gambling.

Two RGF-funded research reports, on placement of ATM’s and third-party exclusions of problem gamblers from gaming venues, have been released today.

“Government will consider any RGF recommendations arising from these reports as part of our ongoing efforts to ensure a responsible gambling environment in New South Wales.” Minister Toole said.


Profiles Of Responsible Gambling Fund (RGF) Trustees

Chair John Dalzell

Chair John Dalzell is one of Australia’s leading dispute resolution lawyers and the current chair of Dentons global litigation and dispute resolution group. He has previously advised the New South Wales Government on liquor, gaming and racing matters.

Dr. Clive Allcock

Dr. Clive Allcock is an experienced psychiatrist who has done significant work in the field of treatment of problem gamblers. He was a founding member of the National Association for Gambling Studies and has recently been made a life member.

Dr. Greg Hugh

Dr. Greg Hugh is an experienced psychiatrist who currently works in the Western New South Wales Local Heath District. He has previously been the clinical director of the Dubbo and Regional Mental Health and Drug and Alcohol Service and has been involved in the policy and planning of various regional mental health and drug and alcohol initiatives.

Elizabeth Lyne

Elizabeth Lyne is an accountant and auditor with over 20 years’ experience in public practice and commercial accounting. She has experience as a board director in the health, government and community sectors.

Mark McCrindle

Mark McCrindle is a demographer, social researcher and Principal of McCrindle Research which he began just over a decade ago. In 1994, he established the not-for-profit Australian Leadership Foundation which provides training programs and leadership development for young people in schools and tertiary studies.

Professor Paul Delfabbro

Professor Paul Delfabbro is an internationally renowned gambling researcher and a lecturer in Psychology at the University of Adelaide. His PhD thesis covered the demographic, behavioural and cognitive factors underlying gambling in South Australia.

Janett Milligan

Janett Milligan is a senior executive who has held leadership positions at New South Wales government agencies including the Office of Sport and Department of Housing. She has strong governance experience as a board member of bodies including Barnardos Australia and Venues New South Wales.

Associate Professor Joel Negin

Associate Professor Joel Negin is head of the University of Sydney’s School of Public Health. He is an experienced manager, project coordinator and researcher with a focus on health issues affecting vulnerable populations.

Paul Newson

Paul Newson is Deputy Secretary, Liquor, Gaming & Racing at the New South Wales Department of Industry. He has wide experience in leadership roles covering regulatory policy and practice, law enforcement and defence. Paul is also a Trustee of the International Association of Gaming Regulators.