In Sport

Queensland Minister for Racing Stirling Hinchliffe

Racing Queensland Board To Continue Racing Reform Agenda

Victor P Taffa

Implementing the Palaszczuk Government’s racing reform agenda will continue to be the focus of the Racing Queensland board (RQ), which includes at least one new face from 1 May.

Minister for Racing Stirling Hinchliffe said the RQ Board would combine experience and continuity with fresh talent.

“Queensland racing is entering an exciting new era as the government presses ahead with a reform agenda to create a more commercially focused industry.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

“RQ’s new-look board will implement a series of new reforms to build on the integrity, prizemoney and country racing reforms we’ve already implemented.”

“5 of the 7 board members will continue their roles, including Chair Steve Wilson who has shown strong leadership during his 3 years in the role.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

“Board will also include fresh new talent, including corporate and commercial lawyer Jane Seawright, who joins RQ as a non-industry board member.”

“Her strong skills in law, governance, strategy and strategic relationship management will be great assets for RQ, along with her strong links to North Queensland.”

“In coming weeks, a new thoroughbred representative will be appointed, as we move to fill a vacancy following the departure of Mark Sowerby.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

“I want to pay tribute to Mark Sowerby and fellow outgoing RQ board member Susannah George for their contributions to Queensland racing.”

“Both have served RQ well and helped to steer Queensland racing on a path for greater growth and prosperity.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

Racing Queensland Board Appointments (effective from 1 May):

  • Mr. Steve Wilson AM (Chairperson) for a term of 3 years;
  • Ms. Sharon Dawson (Deputy Chairperson) and non-industry member for a period of 2 years;
  • Mr. Max Walters OAM (non-industry member) for a period of 2 years;
  • Ms. Jane Seawright (non-industry member) for a period of 3 years;
  • Mr. Dale Cartwright (greyhound representative) for a period of 2 years;
  • Ms. Margaret Reynolds (harness representative) for a period of 2 years.

Minister Hinchliffe said Queensland Racing Integrity Commissioner Ross Barnett had also been appointed for a new 3-year term, effective 1 July.

“Under Ross Barnett’s leadership, QRIC has been at the forefront of implementing integrity reform in Queensland racing.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

“Palaszczuk Government will continue to seek stronger animal welfare and integrity measures in racing and will work with QRIC to achieve this.”


Start typing and press Enter to search