Queensland Spits The Dummy

Queensland Spits The Dummy

Queensland Minister for Sport Steve Dickson

State Of Origin Games Five-Year Schedule

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Rugby League Commission (ARLC) has today announced Queensland and New South Wales will retain their right to host the majority of State of Origin matches over the next five years.

Mr. Dickson said while it was disappointing that New South Wales would host two games in 2013, the decision from the ARLC meant every series from 2013-2017 would be played in either one of the two states, with the exception of 2015 where one game of the three would be played in a neutral city.

“The Newman Government stood strong and continued to maintain that Queensland should not have to pay for something which is already ours.” Mr. Dickson said.

“This game is an institution in our state, it’s where legends like Darren Lockyer and Artie Beetson were made and it must always remain the meeting place for generations of diehard supporters.”

“It appears New South Wales has got out its chequebook to secure two games next year, but let’s face it, after losing seven series straight, they’re clearly grasping at straws to try to rebuild their game.” Mr. Dickson said.

“Queenslanders will overcome this challenge, and go on to make it eight in a row next year.”

“In the long term however, it’s great that Queensland will still have the same number of games, and didn’t lose out to the Victorians, who were throwing everything but the kitchen sink at securing a game every year.” Mr. Dickson said.

“We’re now getting on with the job of providing support to grassroots community sport and recreation clubs across Queensland, including $8.2 Million in funding for rugby league.”

“Queensland is the traditional home of rugby league and the Newman Government will ensure we remain so into the future.” Mr. Dickson said.