Queensland Police Swear In 76 New Officers At March 2019 Graduation

Queensland Police Swear In 76 New Officers At March 2019 Graduation

Queensland Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services Mark Ryan

76 New Officers Sworn Into Service At Oxley Graduation

Victor P Taffa

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services Mark Ryan and Commissioner Stewart today welcomed 76 new Police officers to the Queensland Police Service (QPS), in an induction ceremony held at the QPS Academy, Oxley campus.

Graduating as First Year Constables (FYC), the new officers have completed 25 weeks of intensive training, preparing them for their new roles serving the community.

Minister Police Mark Ryan said Police perform a vital role in the maintenance of law and order, and public safety.

“On behalf of the communities and Government of Queensland, I am grateful for the 75 FYC’s who have accepted this responsibility today.”

“Each has sworn they will maintain integrity, professionalism and accountability when serving and protecting the people of Queensland. Queenslanders should feel confident these standards will be met.”

“They will help to create a safe environment for residents and visitors, working in partnership with local communities and other government agencies around Queensland.”

“First Year Constables breathe new life into the Service with their unique experiences and enthusiasm.”

“I would like to acknowledge the education and support services provided by the QPS People Capability Command and wish the 75 FYC’s good luck as they embark on their careers.” Minister Ryan said.

Recruit training program provides recruits with a high-quality foundation, so they can deliver an excellent level of service to the community and ensure their Policing skills have developed to a level necessary for operational Policing as First Year Constables under supervision.

Commissioner Stewart congratulated the FYC’s on their graduation and announced they would commence their careers in the Brisbane, South Eastern, Central, Northern and Southern regions.

Of the 76 new Police officers:

  • 19 FYC’s have been allocated to the Brisbane Region,
  • 17 to the South Eastern Region,
  • 15 to the Central Region,
  • 11 to the Northern Region,
  • 14 to the Southern Region.

“I remember my induction well and I hope this afternoon’s ceremony is a memory each FYC carries with them throughout a successful career in the QPS.” Commissioner Stewart said.

“Role of a Police officer is like no other responsible for the safety and security of Queensland.”

“There is no doubt each of these new officers will experience some challenging situations, however there will also be many rewarding and humbling times.” Commissioner Stewart said.

“I wish luck to every officer in their career and feel confident they will uphold the values expected of a police officer in Queensland.”

New FYC’s will be initially deployed to the following areas:

Northern Region

Far North District

  • Atherton Station 2
  • Mareeba Station 1

 Townsville District

  • Charters Towers Station 1
  • Townsville Station 1
  • Ingham Station 1

 Mt. Isa District

  • Mt. Isa Station 5

Central Region

Capricornia District

  • Rockhampton Station 2
  • Rockhampton Station 1
  • Gladstone Station 3

 Wide Bay District

  • Maryborough Station 3
  • Gympie Station 2

 Sunshine Coast District

  • Maroochydore Station 1
  • Noosa Heads Station 1
  • Kawana Station 1
  • Sippy Downs Station 1

Southern Region

Moreton District

  • Caboolture Station 2
  • Redcliffe Station 2

Darling Downs District

  • Toowoomba Station 4

 Ipswich District

  • Karana Downs Station 1
  • Ipswich Station 2
  • Goodna Station 1
  • Yamanto Station 1
  • Springfield Station 1

Brisbane Region

North Brisbane District

  • Brisbane City Station 1
  • Fortitude Valley Station 1
  • Carseldine Station 1
  • Stafford Station 1
  • Boondall Station 1
  • Mango Hill North Lakes Station 2
  • Petrie Station 2

 South Brisbane District

  • Inala Station 1
  • Ommaney Station 1
  • Upper Mount Gravatt Station 1
  • Holland Park Station 1
  • West End Station 1
  • Annerley Station 1
  • Dutton Park Station 1
  • Redland Bay Station 1
  • Cleveland Station 1
  • Capalaba Station 1

South Eastern Region

Logan District

  • Crestmead Station 2
  • Logan Central Station 3
  • Beenleigh Station 2
  • Browns Plains Station 2
  • Loganholme Station 1

Gold Coast District

  • Broadbeach Station 1
  • Southport Station 1
  • Nerang Station 2
  • Coomera Station 3