In Technology

Western Australia Premier Mark McGowan

Western Australia Minister for Science Dave Kelly

Premier’s Science Awards Celebrate Leading Western Australia Scientists

Victor P Taffa

  • Premier’s Science Awards, now in their 17th year, offer prizes totalling $80,000 to Western Australia’s leading scientists
  • Professor Peter Newman AO named Scientist of the Year
  • Emeritus Professor David Blair inducted into the Western Australia Science Hall of Fame

Western Australia’s most outstanding researchers and science engagement initiative were recognised last night at the Premier’s Science Awards 2018 ceremony.

Premier’s Science Awards, now in their 17th year, cover all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics. The awards also recognise community engagement. The finalists and winners of the Premier’s Science Awards are decided by a panel led by Professor Peter Klinken, Western Australia’s Chief Scientist.

“I would like to congratulate all finalists and winners for their outstanding contributions to our community.” Premier Mark McGowan said.

“Emeritus Professor David Blair’s impressive career has helped secure a high profile for Western Australia in the international gravitational wave community, and was aptly recognised when he was admitted into the Western Australia Science Hall of Fame.”

2018 Premier’s Science Awards Winners Are:

  • Professor Peter Newman AO (Curtin University) – Scientist of the Year ($50,000);
  • Melissa O’Donnell (Telethon Kids Institute/The University of Western Australia) – Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000);
  • Arman Siahvashi (The University of Western Australia) and Ryan Urquhart (Curtin University) – joint winners of the ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000);
  • Rio Tinto Naturescape Kings Park – Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000).

WA Minister for Science Dave Kelly









“Each of the 2018 Premier’s Science Award winners have demonstrated great achievement and impact in their area of science.” Minister for Science Dave Kelly said.

“Professor Peter Newman AO is a world leader in the science of cities and their sustainability.”

“His decades of crucial research have had a significant impact on the science community and public policy at all levels, contributing to urban design and transport sustainability in Western Australia.” Minister Kelly said.

Emeritus Professor David Blair was inducted into the Western Australia Science Hall of Fame in recognition of his extensive achievements in experimental physics, focusing on the direct detection of gravitational waves.

ExxonMobil, Chevron and Woodside have sponsored the awards since 2013. Western Australia’s five universities are proud supporters of the Premier’s Science Awards.

Science Minister Dave Kelly also took the opportunity at the ceremony to release the new Western Australia Science and Innovation Framework (2018-2022), which outlines the State Government’s science and innovation priorities which are critical to enriching lives, creating jobs and diversifying the economy.


Start typing and press Enter to search