Professor Kate Warner AM Appointed As Tasmania’s 28th Governor

Professor Kate Warner AM Appointed As Tasmania’s 28th Governor

Tasmania Premier Will Hodgman

Tasmania’s 28th Governor Sworn In

Victor P Taffa

Her Excellency Professor Kate Warner AM was today officially sworn in as Tasmania’s 28th Governor, Premier Hodgman said.

“I wish to convey to Her Excellency my Government’s heartfelt congratulations and wish her every success in this important Vice Regal role.”







“Professor Warner has had a distinguished career at the University of Tasmania and later as Director of the Tasmanian Law Reform Institute, contributing greatly to our state.” Mr. Hodgman said.

“Known for her sharp intellect, warmth and passion Governor Warner will be a wonderful advocate of Tasmania.”

“As the Governor and Mr. Warner settle into their new roles, I know all Tasmanians will want to warmly welcome them and wish them the very best.” Mr. Hodgman said.

“I also want to again thank the Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Justice Alan Blow OAM, who has administered the state since the untimely death of the former Governor Peter Underwood, and Mrs. Blow.”

“The Warners will reside at Government House during the Governor’s five year appointment.” Mr. Hodgman said.