Principals & Teachers Head For China’s Jiangsu Province As Part Of Teaching Program

Principals & Teachers Head For China’s Jiangsu Province As Part Of Teaching Program

Victoria Minister Responsible for the Teaching Profession Peter Hall

Minister Launches Cultural Exchange Program

Victor P Taffa

Victorian Teachers will gain first-hand experience of some of the world’s most effective teaching methods through a Cultural Exchange Program between the Coalition Government and the Asia Education Foundation (AEF).

Minister responsible for the Teaching Profession Peter Hall today announced $479,500 towards a partnership between the Government and AEF that would enable Victorian teachers to gain a better understanding of education systems in other cultures.

“Under the Program, 200 subsidised places are available for educators to participate in short-term overseas study programs in China, India, Korea, Malaysia and Vietnam.” Mr. Hall said.

“To help our students succeed in an increasingly competitive and global society, it is vital for educators to teach confidently about other countries and cultures.”


Mr. Hall also today farewelled a group of 30 Principals and Teachers from 10 schools in the Eastern Metropolitan Region who will depart on an intensive 12 day study tour visiting China’s Jiangsu Province on February 27.

“This is an excellent opportunity for teachers to gain valuable cultural insights as well as promote the Victorian Education System.” Mr. Hall said.

“Trips such as this will ensure teachers are equipped with the skills to sharpen students’ understanding of the world and prepare them to become active global citizens.”

Mr. Hall said participants would take part in a three-day school placement and homestay, and meet with Austrade’s Senior Trade Commissioner, a representative from Australia Education International and other business leaders.

Victoria has established a Memorandum of Understanding with the Chinese Ministry of Education and Jiangsu Province for co-operation in a number of areas. Last year, more than 3500 Chinese students enrolled in Victorian Government and non-government schools.

The 10 Schools represented on the upcoming tour of China are:

  • Ashwood Secondary College;
  • Balwyn North Primary School;
  • Camberwell Primary School;
  • Camberwell High School;
  • Canterbury Primary School;
  • Donburn Primary School;
  • Doncaster Gardens Primary School;
  • East Doncaster Secondary College;
  • Mount View Primary School;
  • Serpell Primary School.