In Sport

Tasmania Premier Will Hodgman

New Mt. Mawson Shelter Officially Opened Ahead Of Ski Season

Victor P Taffa

New Mt. Mawson Public Shelter was today officially opened and will provide a new level of amenity for southern Tasmania’s only ski field, Premier Will Hodgman said.

There will also be upgraded facilities for bushwalkers heading to the iconic Tarn Shelf walk in Mt. Field National Park.

Located at one of the highest building locations in the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area, the new building includes:

  • First aid station,
  • Ski patrol facilities,
  • Ticketing office,
  • Public shelter with toilets.


Mt. Mawson Public Shelter is designed to be energy efficient using solar energy, and the building’s stonework has crafted to blend the building into the rocky landscape.

Local firm Vos Constructions, with input from BPSM architects, delivered the $1.25 Million building which was jointly funded by the Tasmanian and Commonwealth Governments.

Tasmania’s unrivalled natural environment is a major drawcard for visitors and visitor numbers to Mt. Field National Park continue to grow sustainably and now approach 200,000 per year.

New Mt. Mawson Public Shelter is part of the Tasmanian Government’s commitment to improving infrastructure in national parks to make it easier for visitors to enjoy the unique experiences on offer around the state, Premier Hodgman said.

Mount Mawson is named after Sir Douglas Mawson and the new Mt. Mawson Public Shelter is named after Douglas Mawson.

Mount Mawson ski area was established as a club ski field in 1958 and is run by the Southern Tasmanian Ski Association. It is situated at around 1,250 metres (4,100 ft) above sea level.

Douglas Mawson

Sir Douglas Mawson OBE FRS FAA was an Australian geologist, Antarctic explorer, and academic. Along with Roald Amundsen, Robert Falcon Scott, and Ernest Shackleton, he was a key expedition leader during a period of great Antarctic Exploration.

Douglas Mawson Antarctic Expedition of 1912 is considered one of the most amazing feats of endurance of all time. Two companions perished yet Douglas Mawson survived.

Mawson Station in the Australian Antarctic Territory is named in his honour.

His image appeared on several postage stamps of the Australian Antarctic Territory:

  • 5 pence (1961),
  • 5 pence (1961),
  • 27 cents (1982),
  • 75 cents (1982),
  • 10 cents (2011),
  • 45 cents (1999).

His image appeared from 1984-96 on the Australian paper $100.00 note and in 2012 on a $1.00 coin issued within the Inspirational Australians series.

Mawson (Postcode 2607) is a suburb of Canberra, Australian Capital Territory. Suburb was gazetted in 1966 and is named after him.

Sir Douglas Mawson was born on 5 May 1882 and died on 14 October 1958. Sir Douglas was buried at the cemetery of St. Jude’s Church, 444 Brighton Road, Brighton, South Australia in 1958.


TAS Premier Will Hodgman








OBE                Order of the British Empire

FRS                 Fellow of the Royal Society

FAA                Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science


Sir Douglas Mawson


Start typing and press Enter to search