Premier Announces 2016 Perth Airport WA Tourism Awards

Premier Announces 2016 Perth Airport WA Tourism Awards

Western Australia Premier Colin Barnett

ADAMS Wins WA’s Prestigious Tourism Award

Victor P Taffa

  • 79 medallists and award winners honoured at the 2016 Perth Airport WA Tourism Awards
  • Organised by the Tourism Council WA (Western Australia)
  • Supported by the Liberal National Government through Tourism WA 


Bus and coach service provider, ADAMS, has taken out the top tourism award at the prestigious 2016 Perth Airport WA Tourism Awards held last night.

Premier and Tourism Minister Colin Barnett said the company won the Sir David Brand Award for Tourism for outstanding achievement in servicing the Western Australian tourism industry.

“ADAMS prides itself on offering a high-quality fleet and providing the best possible travel experience for clients.” Premier Barnett said.

“I would like to congratulate the company on taking out the top prize as well as gold in the Major Tour and Transport Operators category.”

Award recipients included:

  • Argyle Diamonds Ord Valley Muster – Festivals and Events
  • COMO The Treasury at the State Buildings – New Tourism Business
  • Vinofood – The Lake House Denmark – Excellence in Food Tourism
  • Whiteman Park – Major Tourist Attractions. 

Koomal Dreaming and Top Drop Tours were also inducted into the Hall of Fame for winning in the same category for three consecutive years.

Premier Barnett said the awards had recognised and celebrated excellence in the tourism industry for more than 40 years. 

“Tourism is a vital industry for WA, contributing $9.6 Billion to the State’s economy in visitor spend and generating about 97,000 jobs last financial year.” Premier Barnett said.

“It is important we continue to recognise and celebrate the hard work of all the tourism businesses which contribute to the industry’s success.”

“The State Government has a goal to increase the value of tourism in the State to $12 Billion by 2020, and I would like to thank the industry for their role in helping us to achieve this goal.”

Fact File

  • WA Tourism Awards started in 1972 and are named in honour of WA’s longest-serving Premier and first Tourism Minister, Sir David Brand
  • Sir David Brand served as Premier 1959-71
  • Winners in 24 categories automatically become finalists in the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, to be held in February 2017