In Elections

Polling Day Saturday 20 October 2012

ACT Electoral Commission

ACT Electoral Commissioner Phillip Green

Pre-Poll Voting Starts Today For ACT Election

Victor P Taffa

Pre-poll voting starts today Tuesday 2 October for those ACT electors who cannot attend a polling place on polling day, Saturday 20 October, the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Phillip Green said today.


“Six pre-poll centres are open in Belconnen, Canberra City, Downer, Gungahlin, Tuggeranong and Woden. Electronic voting is available at each of these centres.” Mr. Green said.

Postal voting is available for electors who are interstate, overseas, confined to home or otherwise unable to go to a polling place or pre-poll voting centre. Electors can apply for a postal vote on-line or by phone on 6205 0033.

Interstate voters can also cast pre-poll votes during normal business hours Monday to Friday from Wednesday 3 October at State and Northern Territory electoral commissions.

“The general election of the seventeen members of the ACT Legislative Assembly will take place on Saturday 20 October. The Legislative Assembly has the power to make laws and form a government to administer the ACT. By voting, ACT citizens can help to shape the future of the place where they live.” Mr. Green said.

You can follow Elections ACT on facebook and Twitter to get up-to-date news on the 20 October ACT election.


Start typing and press Enter to search