Prahran District 2014

Prahran District 2014

Polling Day Saturday 29 November 2014

Victoria Electoral Commission

Victor P Taffa

State Election 2014: Prahran District Candidates

8 Candidates are listed in the order in which they will appear on the Lower House ballot paper for Prahran District.

Candidate                                          Affiliation

HIBBINS, Sam                                  AUSTRALIAN GREENS

WALKER, Alan                                 FAMILY FIRST

PHARAOH, Neil                               AUSTRALIAN LABOR PARTY

GOLDSMITH, Jason Simon


NEWTON-BROWN, Clem                LIBERAL

GULLONE, Eleonora                         ANIMAL JUSTICE PARTY

MENADUE, Alan Maxwell


Boundary Changes:

The 2012-2013 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to the boundaries of Prahran District.

Prahran Lost:

1,218 electors to Albert Park District (Part of St Kilda)

1,683 electors to Caulfield District (Parts of Balaclava and St Kilda)

1,400 electors to Malvern District (Part of Toorak)

Prahran Gained:

2,990 electors from Albert Park District (Part of Melbourne between St Kilda Road and Queens Road)

1,580 electors from Caulfield District (Part of St Kilda East)


Upper House Region:

Southern Metropolitan Region

Election Results:

Two-party preferred vote, 2010 State election:

ALP:               15,443             45.72%

Liberal:            18,333             54.28%

Estimated two-party preferred vote on 2014 boundaries:*

ALP:               14,947             45.3%

Liberal:            18,055             54.7%

*These estimates are based on 2010 figures


Sitting Member

Clem Newton-Brown – Liberal

Historical Pattern

1889-93           Liberal

1893-94           Conservative

1894-97           ALP

1897-1907       Liberal

1907-08           Fusion

1908-09           Liberal

1909-20           Fusion Liberal/Liberal/National

1920-21           ALP

1921-24           National

1924-32           ALP

1932                Premiers Plan Labor

1932-45           UAP/Liberal

1945-55           ALP

1955-79           LCP/Liberal

1979-85           ALP

1985-2002       Liberal

2002-2010       ALP

2010-Present  Liberal