Palaszczuk Govt Appoints Fisheries Working Group Members

Palaszczuk Govt Appoints Fisheries Working Group Members

Queensland Minister for Fisheries Bill Byrne

Fisheries Working Group Members Appointed

Victor P Taffa

Commercial and recreational fishers are well represented on the first 3 fisheries working groups appointed under the Palaszczuk Government’s landmark Sustainable Fisheries Strategy.

“Appointment of the panels is fundamental to the changes we are making to establish a world class fisheries management system in Queensland.” Fisheries Minister Bill Byrne said.

“Working group members will play a key role in representing the views and aspirations of the stakeholders they represent as part of a community effort to manage fisheries, develop harvest strategies and ensure sustainability of stocks.” Minister Byrne said.

“There are members from the commercial industry, recreational fishers, sport fishers, scientific and government organisations and conservation groups.”

“I would like to thank all those who have volunteered to give their time and insight to this initiative. Their contributions will be invaluable as we develop the strategies necessary to ensure that our fisheries thrive.”

First 3 working groups represent the:

  • Trawl Fishery,
  • East Coast Inshore Fishery,
  • Crab Fishery.

Membership of each group is as follows:

Trawl Fishery:

  • Richard Taylor (Commercial fishing, Cairns),
  • Jim Newman (Commercial fishing, Cairns),
  • Neil Morgensen (Commercial fishing, Townsville),
  • Barry Ehrke (Commercial fishing, Bundaberg),
  • Steve Murphy (Commercial fishing, Hervey Bay),
  • Nick Schulz (Commercial fishing, Hervey Bay),
  • Glen Duggan (Commercial fishing, Tin Can Bay),
  • Scott McLay (Commercial fishing, Mooloolaba),
  • Bill Marsh (Commercial fishing, Brisbane),
  • Kev Adams (Commercial fishing, Gold Coast),
  • Jim Higgs (Conservation),
  • Rachel Pears (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority),
  • David Bateman (Recreational fishing).

 East Coast Inshore Fishery:

  • Ben Gilliland (Commercial fishing, Sunshine Coast),
  • Mark Ahern (Commercial fishing, Mackay),
  • Nathan Rynn (Commercial fishing, Townsville),
  • Margaret Stevenson (Commercial fishing, Hervey Bay),
  • Matthew Vujica (Commercial fishing / seafood processing, South East Queensland),
  • Allan Bobberman (Commercial fishing, North Queensland),
  • Steve Morgan (Recreational fishing / media, South East Queensland),
  • John Bennett (Recreational fishing, Mackay),
  • Nathan Johnston (Recreational fishing, Rockhampton),
  • Tooni Mahto (Conservation),
  • David Welch (Science),
  • Thomas Hatley (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority).

 Crab Fishery:

  • Ben Day (Commercial fishing, Gulf),
  • Peter Jackson (Commercial fishing, Hervey Bay),
  • Anne Tooker (Commercial fishing, Rockhampton),
  • Keith Harris (Commercial fishing, Stanage Bay),
  • David Bateman (Recreational fishing, South East Queensland),
  • George Bennetts (Recreational fishing, South East Queensland),
  • Wayne Bonham (Recreational fishing, Agnes Waters/1770),
  • Michael Detenon (Recreational fishing, Ayr),
  • James Aumend (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority).

Minister Byrne said the working groups would have their first meeting in late September/early October.

“Thank you to everyone who expressed an interest in joining one of the first 3 working groups. We had an excellent response, with more than 100 nominations.”

“Being a member of a working group is not the only way to get involved.” Minister Byrne said.

“Fisheries Queensland will be engaging all stakeholders more broadly including regular surveys, face to face meetings in regional and port areas and discussion papers on options to better manage our different fisheries.”

“Stakeholders are encouraged to get involved in these activities to provide their views on fisheries reform.”

“Other expressions of interest will be released in the future as reforms are rolled out in other fisheries, so keep an eye out on our social media channels.” Minister Byrne said.

Traditional owners are an important stakeholder group and under the Sustainable Fisheries Strategy, a traditional fishing policy and an indigenous commercial fishing development policy will also be developed in consultation with indigenous communities through a range of existing indigenous forums.