Orange State By-Election Timetable Of Events

Orange State By-Election Timetable Of Events

Polling Day Saturday 12 November 2016

New South Wales Electoral Commission

Election Of Legislative Assembly Member For Orange

Victor P Taffa

The writ for the Orange State By-election was issued by the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on Friday 23 September.

It is compulsory for Australian citizens, 18 years of age or older and resident in the Orange State District, to enrol and vote for the election of a member of the Legislative Assembly.

Returning Officer’s Office

123 – 125 Moulder Street, Orange, 2800

Office Hours

Currently 9.00 am to 5.00 pm Monday to Friday

Postal Address

PO Box 1160, Orange NSW 2800

General Enquiries

1300 135 736


Key Dates



Friday, 23 September

Issue of Writ

Nominations Open

Monday, 3 October

Public Holiday – Offices closed.

Tuesday, 25 October

10.00 am

iVote Registration opens

Wednesday, 26 October

12.00 noon

Close of nominations for Registered Political Parties at NSWEC Head Office

Thursday, 27 October

12.00 noon

Close of nominations at Returning Officer’s Office

12.00 noon

Registration of candidates closes

2.00 pm

Ballot Paper Draw

Registration of Electoral Materials commences

Monday, 31 October

8.00 am

iVote voting opens

8.00 am

Pre-poll voting opens

Friday, 4 November

12.00 noon

Registration of Third-party campaigners closes

5.00 pm

Registration of Electoral Material closes

Saturday, 5 November

9.00 am – 5.00 pm

Pre-poll voting

Monday, 7 November

Declared Institution (DI) voting starts

6.00 pm

Postal vote applications (outside Australia) closes

Wednesday, 9 November

6.00 pm

Postal Vote applications (within Australia) closes

Friday, 11 November

DI voting ends

6.00 pm

Pre-poll voting closes

Saturday, 12 November       

8.00 am – 6.00 pm     

Election Day

1.00 pm

iVote registration closes

6.00 pm

iVote voting closes

Wednesday, 16 November

6.00 pm

Close receipt of postal votes declarations

Thursday, 17 November

Distribution of preferences (if required)

Friday, 18 November

Declaration of election candidate

Friday, 25 November

Last day of return of Writ