NT Sports Awards Nominations Open Until 29 January 2017

NT Sports Awards Nominations Open Until 29 January 2017

Northern Territory Minister for Tourism and Culture Lauren Moss

NT Sports Awards Nominations Now Open

Victor P Taffa

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Northern Territory (NT) Sports Awards.

The NT Sports Awards is the premier event on the Territory sporting calendar and recognises the outstanding achievements of our athletes, coaches, sporting officials and volunteers across eight categories.

Minister for Tourism and Culture Lauren Moss urged Territorians from all sports to nominate a local champion who demonstrates, or has achieved, outstanding results in their sporting field.

“The NT Sports Awards is a highlight on the Northern Territory sporting calendar each year.” Ms. Moss said.

“I encourage Territorians to nominate our Olympians, Commonwealth Games athletes and those who have excelled at the highest level in local, national and international competitions.

“The 2017 event will also celebrate the 21st birthday of the NT Institute of Sport, a perfect opportunity to thank them for the hard work they do in developing our best athletes and coaches.”

Last year’s winners include AFL legend Cyril Rioli, who was named Sportsperson of the Year, and basketball superstar Abby Cubillo, who took home the award for Junior Sportsperson of the Year.

Nominated award categories include:

  • NT Sportsperson of the Year
  • NT Junior Sportsperson of the Year
  • NT Masters Sportsperson of the Year
  • NT Team of the Year
  • Eric Johnston Coach of the Year
  • Official’s Award
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Local Performance of the Year.

Awards also feature non-nominated categories whereby a panel considers suitable candidates:

  • NT Hall of Champions – acknowledges the Territory’s greatest sportspeople
  • NT Roll of Honour – recognises the important role of coaches, administrators and officials
  • Steve Abala Role Model – the ‘Administrator’s Medal’ – awarded to an athlete who demonstrates a positive and encouraging example for others to follow.

Nominations are open from 18 November 2016 and close 29 January 2017.

An early bird prize will be awarded for registrations received prior to 8 January 2017.

NT Sports Awards will be celebrated at a gala event on Saturday March 25 at the Marrara Indoor Stadium. Tickets will be available in the New Year.