Northern Territory Election Timetable Of Events 2016

Northern Territory Election Timetable Of Events 2016

Northern Territory Electoral Commission

Polling Day Saturday 27 August 2016

Election Timetable For 2016 Territory Election

Victor P Taffa

The Northern Territory Electoral Commission has released a Timetable of Events for The Northern Territory Election to be held on Saturday 27 August 2016.

Monday 8 August

Issue of the writ

Nominations open

Wednesday 10 August

8:00 pm Close of electoral roll

Friday 12 August

12:00 noon

Close of nominations,

Declaration of nominations,

Draw for position on ballot papers

Monday 15 August

Postal vote mail-out commences

Early voting commences

Wednesday 17 August

Mobile voting commences

Tuesday 23 August

6:00 pm Overseas postal voting despatches cease

Thursday 25 August

6:00 pm All postal voting despatches cease

Friday 26 August

6:00 pm Early voting ceases

Saturday 27 August Election Day

8:00 am Election day voting commences

6:00 pm Election day voting ceases Mobile voting ceases

Primary counts of ordinary, postal and early votes commence

Monday 29 August

9:00 am Declaration vote verification checks, commence recheck of all counts

Primary counts of accepted declaration votes, further postal counts

Friday 9 September

12:00 noon Deadline for receipt of postal votes

Final counts of postal votes commence

Distribution of preferences

Monday 12 September

10:00 am Declaration of the election result: Anticipated date

Monday 3 October

Return of the writ: Anticipated date – actual date will be set when the writ is issued.

Monday 24 October

Last day for disputing the validity of the election: Anticipated date – actual date is 21 days after the date fixed for the return of the writ.

Disclosure returns due from broadcasters and publishers

Monday 12 December

Disclosure returns due from candidates, donors and other persons incurring political expenditure

Monday 20 February

Election disclosure returns to be made available for public inspection

 

Correct as at 6 May 2016