In Sport

Richmond’s Dustin Martin Wins His Second Norm Smith Medal

Victor P Taffa

Richmond’s Dustin Martin has won his second Norm Smith Medal for best player on ground in the AFL Grand Final against Greater Western Sydney.


Norm Smith Medal

Norm Smith Medal is the award given in the AFL Grand Final to the player adjudged by an independent panel of experts to have been the best player in the match.

Norm Smith

Norm Smith Medal is named after former Melbourne player and coach, Norm Smith. Named in his honour mostly due to his coaching feats in Grand Finals:

  • Norm Smith coached Melbourne from 1952-67
  • Norm Smith coached 6 Melbourne Premiership sides from 8 appearances in Grand Finals.
  • Norm Smith coached Melbourne to the 1955, 1956, 1957, 1959, 1960 and 1964 Premierships.



Norm Smith Medal is usually awarded to a player on the winning side. Only 4 players have won the award in losing sides:

Grand Final               Player

2005                            Chris Judd

2002                            Nathan Buckley

1989                            Gary Ablett Sr.

1982                            Maurice Rioli

Norm Smith Medal was first awarded at the 1979 VFL Grand Final.


Norm Smith Medal is voted for by a panel of 5 with 1 member designated as the Chairman.

Panel members independently award 3-2-1 votes to the players they adjudge to be the best 3 players in the game. These votes are tallied, and the highest number of votes wins the medal.

There is no chance of a tie for the medal; if 2 players are tied for votes, the following countbacks will apply in order:

  • Player with the higher number of 3-votes;
  • Player with the higher number of 2-votes;
  • Player deemed best by the Panel Chairman.

Prior to the 2016 AFL Season, if the Grand Final resulted in a draw, the game would be replayed the following week. In this case, a separate Norm Smith Medal is awarded in each game.


Norm Smith Medal Winners

Norm Smith Medal Winners are as follows:

SeasonWinnerClubWinning Team
2019Dustin MartinRichmondRichmond
2018Luke ShueyWest CoastWest Coast
2017***Dustin MartinRichmondRichmond
2016Jason JohannisenWestern BulldogsWestern Bulldogs
2015Cyril RioliHawthornHawthorn
2014Luke HodgeHawthornHawthorn
2013Brian LakeHawthornHawthorn
2012Ryan O’KeefeSydneySydney
2011Jimmy BartelGeelongGeelong
2010**Scott PendleburyCollingwoodCollingwood
2010**Lenny HayesSt. KildaDrawn Match
2009Paul ChapmanGeelongGeelong
2008Luke HodgeHawthornHawthorn
2007Steve JohnsonGeelongGeelong
2006Andrew EmbleyWest CoastWest Coast
2005*Chris JuddWest CoastSydney
2004Bryon PickettPort AdelaidePort Adelaide
2003Simon BlackBrisbane LionsBrisbane Lions
2002*Nathan BuckleyCollingwoodBrisbane Lions
2001Shaun HartBrisbane LionsBrisbane Lions
2000James HirdEssendonEssendon
1999Shannon GrantNorth MelbourneNorth Melbourne
1998Andrew McLeodAdelaideAdelaide
1997Andrew McLeodAdelaideAdelaide
1996Glenn ArcherNorth MelbourneNorth Melbourne
1995Greg WilliamsCarltonCarlton
1994Dean KempWest CoastWest Coast
1993Michael LongEssendonEssendon
1992Peter MateraWest CoastWest Coast
1991Paul DearHawthornHawthorn
1990Tony ShawCollingwoodCollingwood
1989*Gary Ablett Sr.GeelongHawthorn
1988Gary AyresHawthornHawthorn
1987David Rhys-JonesCarltonCarlton
1986Gary AyresHawthornHawthorn
1985Simon MaddenEssendonEssendon
1984Billy DuckworthEssendonEssendon
1983Colin RobertsonHawthornHawthorn
1982*Maurice RioliRichmondCarlton
1981Bruce DoullCarltonCarlton
1980Kevin BartlettRichmondRichmond
1979Wayne HarmesCarltonCarlton


*Winner played on losing team

**Two Medals were awarded as the Grand Final was drawn and a second match was played the next week.

*** Won Brownlow Medal and North Smith Medal in same year.


Multiple Norm Smith Medal Winners

Players who have won the North Smith Medal multiple times include:

Medals            Player                         Team              Seasons

2                      Dustin Martin              Richmond       2017, 2019

2                      Luke Hodge                Hawthorn        2008, 2014

2                      Andrew McLeod        Adelaide         1997, 1998

2                      Gary Ayres                  Hawthorn        1986, 1988


AFL                Australian Football League

VFL                Victorian Football League (Preceded the AFL Competition)


Start typing and press Enter to search