In Sport

West Coast’s Luke Shuey Wins Season 2018 Norm Smith Medal

Victor P Taffa

West Coast Eagles Luke Shuey has won the 2018 Norm Smith Medal for Best Player on Ground in the Grand Final.


Norm Smith Medal

Norm Smith Medal is the award given in the AFL Grand Final to the player adjudged by an independent panel of experts to have been the best player in the match.

Norm Smith

Norm Smith Medal is named after former Melbourne player and coach, Norm Smith. Named in his honour mostly due to his coaching feats in Grand Finals:

  • Norm Smith coached 6 Melbourne Premiership sides from 8 appearances in Grand Finals.
  • Norm Smith coached Melbourne to the 1955, 1956, 1957, 1959, 1960 and 1964 Premierships.


Norm Smith Medal is usually awarded to a player on the winning side. Only 4 players have won the award in losing sides:

Grand Final               Player

2005                            Chris Judd

2002                            Nathan Buckley

1989                            Gary Ablett Sr.

1982                            Maurice Rioli

Norm Smith Medal was first awarded at the 1979 VFL Grand Final.


Norm Smith Medal is voted for by a panel of 5 with 1 member designated as the Chairman.

Panel members independently award 3-2-1 votes to the players they adjudge to be the best 3 players in the game. These votes are tallied, and the highest number of votes wins the medal.

There is no chance of a tie for the medal; if 2 players are tied for votes, the following countbacks will apply in order:

  • Player with the higher number of 3-votes;
  • Player with the higher number of 2-votes;
  • Player deemed best by the Panel Chairman.

Prior to the 2016 AFL Season, if the Grand Final resulted in a draw, the game would be replayed the following week. In this case, a separate Norm Smith Medal is awarded in each game.


Norm Smith Medal Winners

Norm Smith Medal Winners are as follows:

Season        Winner                       Club                          Winning Team

2018                Luke Shuey                 West Coast                  West Coast

2017***          Dustin Martin              Richmond                   Richmond

2016                Jason Johannisen         Western Bulldogs       Western Bulldogs

2015                Cyril Rioli                   Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

2014                Luke Hodge                Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

2013                Brian Lake                  Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

2012                Ryan O’Keefe             Sydney                        Sydney

2011                Jimmy Bartel              Geelong                       Geelong

2010**            Scott Pendlebury         Collingwood               Collingwood

2010**            Lenny Hayes               St. Kilda                      Drawn Match

2009                Paul Chapman             Geelong                       Geelong

2008                Luke Hodge                Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

2007                Steve Johnson             Geelong                       Geelong

2006                Andrew Embley          West Coast                  West Coast

2005*              Chris Judd                  West Coast                  Sydney

2004                Bryon Pickett              Port Adelaide              Port Adelaide

2003                Simon Black               Brisbane Lions            Brisbane Lions

2002*              Nathan Buckley          Collingwood               Brisbane Lions

2001                Shaun Hart                  Brisbane Lions            Brisbane Lions

2000                James Hird                  Essendon                     Essendon

1999                Shannon Grant            North Melbourne         North Melbourne

1998                Andrew McLeod        Adelaide                     Adelaide

1997                Andrew McLeod        Adelaide                     Adelaide

1996                Glenn Archer              North Melbourne     North Melbourne

1995                Greg Williams             Carlton                         Carlton

1994                Dean Kemp                 West Coast                  West Coast

1993                Michael Long             Essendon                     Essendon

1992                Peter Matera                West Coast                  West Coast

1991                Paul Dear                    Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

1990                Tony Shaw                  Collingwood               Collingwood

1989*              Gary Ablett Sr.            Geelong                       Hawthorn

1988                Gary Ayres                  Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

1987                David Rhys-Jones       Carlton                        Carlton

1986                Gary Ayres                  Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

1985                Simon Madden           Essendon                     Essendon

1984                Billy Duckworth         Essendon                     Essendon

1983                Colin Robertson          Hawthorn                    Hawthorn

1982*              Maurice Rioli              Richmond                   Carlton

1981                Bruce Doull                 Carlton                         Carlton

1980                Kevin Bartlett             Richmond                   Richmond

1979                Wayne Harmes            Carlton                       Carlton

*Winner played on losing team

**Two Medals were awarded as the Grand Final was drawn and a second match was played the next week.

*** Won Brownlow Medal and North Smith Medal in same year.


Multiple Norm Smith Medal Winners

Players who have won the North Smith Medal multiple times include:

Medals         Player                         Team              Seasons

2                      Luke Hodge                Hawthorn        2008, 2014

2                      Andrew McLeod        Adelaide         1997, 1998

2                      Gary Ayres                  Hawthorn        1986, 1988



AFL                Australian Football League

VFL                Victorian Football League (Preceded the AFL Competition)


Start typing and press Enter to search