Nominations Open For WA Science Awards 2011

Nominations Open For WA Science Awards 2011

Western Australia Minister for Science and Innovation John Day

Awards Call For WA’s Best Science Researchers, Educators And Communicators

Victor P Taffa

Science and Innovation Minister John Day today opened nominations for the 2011 Western Australian Science Awards, WA’s most prestigious science awards which this year celebrate 10 years of rewarding excellence.

Mr. Day said science played a key role in ensuring the State’s sustainable development and there were many individuals, organisations and institutes undertaking excellent work in this field.

“Our scientists and researchers are among the world’s best groundbreaking discoveries and developments are taking place right here in WA that go on to make a significant difference, not only for the State, but around the world.” Mr. Day said.

“For 10 years running, the WA Science Awards have recognised and rewarded outstanding science endeavours and achievements.”



“I am also very pleased that the education category has been expanded to include two mathematics education awards, in addition to the two science education awards. Together, maths and science education in WA schools build a strong foundation for our young people to become the State’s next generation of scientists.”

“Previous award recipients have contributed to the advancement of water conservation, oil and gas exploration, eye disorders, vaccines against HIV, gravitational science, rare muscle disorders and many more.”

“It is important that we acknowledge the impact these advances have on ensuring the continued economic and social development of the State.”

Since the awards’ establishment in 2002, the State Government has recognised the efforts and achievements of 50 winners including Nobel Laureate Professor Barry Marshall, Winthrop Professors Michael Tobar and Cheryl Praeger, ECOCEAN Inc and Roger Harris from the Herdsman Lake Wildlife Centre.

The Minister said the seven different award categories recognised a diverse range of achievements in the science sector.

“The inclusion of categories across science research, communication/outreach and education, ensures the WA Science Awards emphasise each function as playing a unique but equally important role in contributing to the State’s science sector.” Mr. Day said.

Nominations for the WA Science Awards close at 5 pm on Friday, July 29.

The Western Australian Science Awards categories are:


  •  Scientist of the Year – $50,000: acknowledges an individual scientist who has demonstrated excellence in a field of science, science research or technological advancement in Western Australia over the past 10 years
  • Early Career Scientist of the Year – $10,000: acknowledges an individual scientist who, within the first 10 years of completing their highest degree, has demonstrated excellence in a field of science, science research or technological advancement in Western Australia.


  •  Science Communication Initiative of the Year – $10,000: recognises an individual, group or organisation that has delivered an outstanding, innovative and ongoing science communication initiative within the past year. The initiative must promote and encourage community understanding of science within Western Australia.


  •  Mathematics Educator of the Year: Secondary – $10,000
  •  Mathematics Educator of the Year: Primary – $10,000: is proudly sponsored by the Department of Education
  • Science Educator of the Year: Secondary – $10,000
  • Science Educatory of the Year: Primary – $10,000: acknowledge primary and secondary science and mathematics teachers who have demonstrated excellence in improving science or mathematics teaching and learning outcomes for their students over the past five years, in a Western Australian school.