In Literary & Arts

Western Australia Minister for Heritage David Templeman

Nominations Open For State’s Annual Heritage Awards

Victor P Taffa

  • Nominations now open for the 2019 Western Australian Heritage Awards
  • Nominations close at 4 pm on Friday December 7, 2018
  • Finalists to be announced in February 2019, with winners to be announced at a gala event in March 2019

Western Australians are urged to nominate their heritage heroes for the Heritage Council’s prestigious Western Australia Heritage Awards.

“Western Australia Heritage Awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognise the passion and commitment of the many volunteers, professionals and organisations whose work has helped build Western Australia’s heritage scene into the vibrant, innovative and highly professional sector it is today.” Minister for Heritage David Templeman said.

“Earlier this year, 19 individuals, organisations and outstanding heritage projects were honoured at the 2018 Western Australia Heritage Awards.”

State Government awards recognise the outstanding contribution of owners, volunteers, professionals and organisations who work to promote and conserve Western Australia’s cultural heritage.

Heritage Awards, now in their 27th year, are an opportunity to showcase the excellent work in revitalising State Registered heritage places, setting standards in interpretation, heritage tourism, conservation and adaptive reuse.

Cue Public Buildings

Transformation of Cue Public Buildings into a Community and Visitor Centre received the top project award for adaptive reuse.”

Former Cue Post Office has been adapted for modern use, giving visitors and the local community a wonderful historic building to enjoy and use, and is a fantastic example of how adaptive reuse of a heritage asset and heritage tourism often go hand in hand.

“High standard of individuals and projects honoured at the 2018 Western Australia Heritage Awards demonstrates why a heritage award is a highly sought-after and valued accolade.” Minister Templeman said.

“In recent years, 6 Western Australia Heritage Award-winning projects have gone on to be recognised at an international level at the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards.”



UNESCO        United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organisation


Start typing and press Enter to search