New South Wales Rugby Union Grand Finals Season 2018

New South Wales Rugby Union Grand Finals Season 2018

New South Wales Rugby Football Union Premiers And Shute Shield

Victor P Taffa

This weekend the New South Wales Rugby Union holds 4 Grade Grand Finals and 3 Colts Grand Finals.


Over many decades players from Grade and Colts ranks have gone on to play for New South Wales Waratahs and Australian Wallaby Rugby Union sides.

Without the Shute Shield there would be no playing talent to draw upon for the Waratahs and Wallabies Teams.

Australian Rugby Union currently is in a parlous state and as with a house if the foundations are knocked down the house also falls down.

Shute Shield competition and all lower grades and colts are the foundation of New South Wales Rugby Union and Australian Rugby Union.



First Sydney club competition was in 1874, contested by Balmain, Newington College, Sydney University Football Club and The King’s School.

Shute Shield is seen as the traditional successor.


Shute Shield

Shute Shield was struck in honour of the late Robert Elliott Stewart Shute, who died on 6 June 1922 aged 23, following a match at Manly Oval.

Shute served as an infantryman in 30th Battery A.I.F. during World War One. On his return to Australia he took up his studies at the University of Sydney and joined the Sydney University rugby club as a front row forward in the first XV.

According to The Sydney Morning Herald, Wednesday 7 June 1922 reported:

As a result of injuries received while playing at Manly in the Rugby football match between the team which toured New Zealand and the Next 15, Robert Elliott Shute, a front row forward in the latter team, died at a private hospital at Manly yesterday morning.

The accident occurred during the latter portion of the first spell of the match. Shute secured the ball and when tackled fell heavily. He was removed to a private hospital, where it was ascertained that he was suffering from cerebral haemorrhage. Without recovering consciousness he died at 6 am.

A former pupil of Sydney Grammar School, Shute, who was 23 years of age, was a third year student at Sydney University and he played for the University first fifteen. He served in the AIF for four years.

Sydney University club had the shield made following his death and donated it in 1923 to the NSWRU to be used as a perpetual trophy for the Sydney first grade competition.

In the years preceding (and including) 1931, a ‘Challenge Final’ was played only if the runner-up side was two or less points behind the Minor Premiers on the Premiership table. Otherwise, the Minor Premiers were declared Premiers.

Tooheys New Cup

Tooheys New Cup (TNC) was a rugby union competition established by the New South Wales Rugby Union (NSWRU) in 2002. Played in the second half of the rugby season after the Super 12 competition was completed, it was intended as a stepping stone between the existing grade rugby and Super 12 competitions.

Tooheys New Cup ran for 5 seasons before it ceased to exist, with the short-lived Australian Rugby Championship taking its place in the second half of the rugby season of 2007. From 2008 onwards, an extended Shute Shield covered the entire season.

Open to the existing 12 grade clubs, the TNC featured Super Rugby players not on international duty and the occasional Wallaby. In seasons 2004-2005 the Canberra Vikings competed in the TNC. In the 2005, 2006 & 2007 the Central Coast Waves & Illawarra Warriors took part in addition to the Sydney-based sides.


New South Wales Rugby Union Grand Final Schedule Season 2018

Saturday 1st September Grade Grand Finals At North Sydney Oval

Competition                           Kick-Off         Team                          Opponent

1st Grade Shute Shield             3.10 pm           Sydney University      Warringah

2nd Grade Colin Caird Shield  12.50 pm         Eastern Suburbs          Eastwood

3rd Grade Henderson Shield    10.50 pm         Eastern Suburbs          Northern Suburbs

4th Grade Henderson Cup       9.00 am           Warringah                   Northern Suburbs


Most Recent Grade Premierships

Competition         Team                          Season         Opponent                   Season

1st Grade                     Sydney University      2013                Warringah                   2017

2nd Grade                    Eastern Suburbs          2009                Eastwood                    2001

3rd Grade                     Eastern Suburbs          1997                Northern Suburbs        1994

4th Grade                     Warringah                   1996                Northern Suburbs        2012


Sunday 2nd September Colts Grand Finals At Concord Oval

Competition                                                   Kick-Off         Team                          Opponent

1st Colts W. McMahon Memorial Shield       3.00 pm           Randwick                    Gordon

2nd Colts Shell Trophy                                      1.00 pm           Randwick                    Gordon

3rd Colts Bill Simpson Shield                         11.15 pm         Eastern Suburbs          Gordon

Most Recent Colts Premierships unavailable at time article was Published.


Grade Club Championship-Gregor George Cup

Club                                        Points

Sydney University                  2,807

Warringah                               2,624

Eastern Suburbs                      2,617

Eastwood                                2,448

Northern Suburbs                    2,377

Manly                                      2,315

Randwick                                2,201

Southern Districts                   1,758

Gordon                                    1,396

West Harbour                          1,167

Parramatta                               891

Penrith                                     64


Colts Club Championship-Eric Spilsted Shield

Club                                        Points

Randwick                                914

Gordon                                    767

Sydney University                  710

Eastern Suburbs                      696

Eastwood                                651

Southern Districts               635

Manly                                      521

Warringah                               511

Northern Suburbs                    465

Parramatta                               204

West Harbour                          145

Penrith                                     -4