In Elections

New South Wales Electoral Commission

Polling Day 23 March 2019

New South Wales Legislative Council 2019 Outcome

Victor P Taffa

New South Wales Electoral Commission has released final votes polled for the New South Wales State Election held on Saturday 23 March 2019.

All results for every seat are now been declared as all Absent, Enrolment and Provisional votes have now counted.

47 seats are required by a Party to form Majority Government in the 93 seat Legislative Assembly.

New South Wales Parliament has 2 Chambers. These being the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

Governments are formed by a Party having the greatest number of seats in the Legislative Assembly.

  • Legislative Assembly is also referred to as the Lower House.
  • Legislative Council is also referred to as the Upper House.

Every 4 years all seats of the Legislative Assembly are declared vacant and a General Election is held.

Legislative Council members hold a seat for 8 years with 21 of the 42 seats declared vacant every 4 years.

Liberal/National Coalition Government led by Liberal Leader Gladys Berejiklian and National Party Leader John Barilaro has been returned to office holding 48 of the 93 seats in the Legislative Assembly.

Liberal/National Coalition Government holds 20 of the 42 seats in the Legislative Council and requires support from another 2 members in order to have bills carried into law if they have already been approved by the Legislative Assembly.

Legislative Council can approve a bill but must be passed by the Legislative Assembly in order for the bill to be carried into law.

Royal Assent by the Governor of New South Wales is the final step for passage of a bill into law.


Party/Representation                                      Seats Held

Animal Justice Party                                                   1

Australian Labor Party                                               12

Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group)     2

Liberal Party                                                                13

The Greens                                                                  5

The Nationals                                                              7

Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party                    2

Total Seats                                                          42


Start typing and press Enter to search