In Business

Queensland Treasurer Tim Nicholls

Queensland Minister for Trade Tim Nicholls

Newman Government Announces New Focus For GOCs

Victor P Taffa

The Newman Government has announced seven new Chairs for Queensland’s Government Owned Corporations (GOCs).

Treasurer and Minister for Trade Tim Nicholls said the new Chairs, approved at a meeting of the Governor in Council yesterday, would ensure improved delivery of services for Queenslanders.

They are:

Energex Limited: Hon Shane Stone
Ergon Energy Corporation Limited: Mr. Malcolm Hall-Brown
Powerlink: Mr. Stephen Rochester
CS Energy Limited: Mr. Ross Rolfe
Stanwell Corporation Limited: Honourable Warwick Parer
North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation Limited: Mr. Peter Milton
Sun Water Limited: Mr. Will Siganto

“Each of these Chairmen will bring a great deal of experience from senior government and industry to their new role.” Mr. Nicholls said.

“They will refocus GOCs on the core tasks of providing efficient energy, water and commodity infrastructure services to the people of Queensland, in addition to driving value for money for Queensland taxpayers.”

“The Newman Government acknowledges the contribution of the former GOC Chairs and thanks them for their service.”

“The new Chairs will work with the Premier, Treasurer and respective Portfolio Ministers to implement the Government’s agenda.”

“We want to realign the priorities of our GOCs to ensure improved efficiency and operation.”

Mr. Nicholls said the LNP Government was focussed on driving change within the Government Owned Corporations to help get Queensland back on track.


ENERGEX Limited:
Mr. Stone is the executive chairman of the APAC group of companies, a company providing specialist advice to companies operating in the Asia Pacific region including the NW Shelf LNG transaction with China. He was the NT’s Chief Minister for a period of 10 years between 1990-2000.

Ergon Energy Corporation Limited:
Mr. Hall -Brown is the Foundation Director of the Port Binnli group of companies which include Raby Bay Marina, Mackay Marina and the Clarion Hotel, Mackay. He is also a fellow certified accountant and company director.

Mr. Rochester was the CEO of Queensland Treasury Corporation for 20 years and Chair for almost 2 years. In 2006 Mr. Rochester was seconded from QTC to the role of chief executive of Sun Retail, ENERGEX’s retail arm, where he helped guide the business through its nine month sale process.

CS Energy Limited:
Mr. Rolfe has previously held senior positions in the Queensland public service, including coordinator general and director-general of the Department of the Premier and Cabinet. He was chief executive of Alinta Energy in New South Wales, a complex generation and retail energy business, and is the Managing Director of resources infrastructure for Lend Lease.

Stanwell Corporation:
Mr. Parer was a Senator for Queensland for 16 years, leaving Parliament in 2000. He was the Federal Minister for Resources and Energy from 1996-1998. Mr Parer was the chair of the Energy and Transport Advisory Sector of CSIRO and is the Chair of the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital Foundation.

North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation Limited:
Mr. Milton has been employed by the principal bulk handling company in Queensland for almost 40 years, retiring in 2007 from the position of executive manager ports at Graincorp. He is the chair of the bulk commodity handling business at Newcastle Agri Terminals.

SunWater Limited:
Mr. Siganto is an engineer with an MBA from the London Business School. He is Executive Chair of commercial air conditioning and mechanical engineering services company Siganto and Stacey.


Start typing and press Enter to search