New Cultural Institution Board Appointments Dominated By Women

New Cultural Institution Board Appointments Dominated By Women

New South Wales Minister for the Arts Don Harwin

Women Lead New South Wales Cultural Appointments

Victor P Taffa

Minister for the Arts Don Harwin announced that 7 of 8 new Cultural Institution board positions will be occupied by women.

New appointees will oversee Cultural Institutions including the Sydney Opera House, Sydney Living Museums, the Australian Museum and other cultural institutions.

Sydney Opera House Trust welcomes the appointment of social advocate Kathryn Greiner, Sydney Dance Company Executive Director Anne Dunn, Lendlease executive Kylie Rampa and SBS CEO Michael Ebeid.

Minister Harwin said it’s pleasing to know the Opera House will be led by such talented leaders in the community.

“As Australia’s most iconic building and arts venue the Sydney Opera House will benefit greatly from the strategic guidance I’m confident these successful candidates will provide.” Minister Harwin said.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce these appointments across our Cultural Institutions ensuring they will be overseen by some of the most capable minds in New South Wales.”

Architect Penelope Seidler AM and businesswoman Chris McDiven AM will take up positions on the Historic Houses Trust which oversees Sydney Living Museums.

Company director Sara Watts and senior executive Shauna Jarrett will take up appointments on the Australian Museum Trust.

Minister Harwin met with His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley Governor of New South Wales, in his role as Vice President of the Executive Council to approve the appointments on Friday.

Re-appointments include:

  • Macquarie Bank CEO Nicholas Moore to continue leading the Sydney Opera House Trust and actress Deborah Mailman re-appointed.
  • Vice-Chancellor of Western Sydney University Barney Glover as President of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Trust; Robert Cameron and Timothy Ebbeck are re-appointed.
  • Chartered accountant David Armstrong as chair of the Australian Museum Trust. Merlin Crossley and Jennifer Bott AO are re-appointed.
  • Naseema Sparks AM is re-appointed to the Historic Houses Trust.
  • Jan Richards and Peter Shergold AC are re-appointed to the Library Council of New South Wales which oversees the State Library of New South Wales.
  • Bruce Dowton and Khadim Ali are re-appointed to the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Board of Trustees.


Biographies of the new appointees are as follows:

Anne Dunn

Anne Dunn is an arts professional with significant experience across the performing arts. She is the executive director of the Sydney Dance Company with overarching financial, business and operational responsibility for the company.

Michael Ebeid AO

Michael Ebeid AO is a commercially and strategically focused CEO with 30 years’ experience across the technology, telecommunications and media sectors. He is currently the CEO and managing director of SBS, and previously the director of corporate strategy and marketing at the ABC.

Kathryn Greiner AO

Kathryn Greiner AO has contributed in a wide range of leadership positions in public and private companies, government bodies and non-profit organisations. She has participated in or led inquiries into education, including the Gonksi Review, and is currently leading a Review into Retirement Villages in New South Wales. Her professional history has been in social work and early childhood services, as well as media roles.

Kylie Rampa

Kylie Rampa is the CEO of Property Australia at Lendlease. She is responsible for many urban regeneration developments, including major mixed-use precincts, commercial, retail and residential projects. Her remit includes communities, retirement living and investment management businesses. Kylie has more than 25 years’ experience in Australian and global real estate.

Penelope Seidler AM

Penelope Seidler AM is a registered architect and qualified accountant. She has been a director of Harry Seidler and Associates since 1964. The ‘Harry and Penelope Seidler House’ in Killara won the Royal Australian Institute of Architects’ (NSW Chapter) Wilkinson Award in 1967. She has served as the Commissioner of the Australian pavilion of the Biennale of Venice and a director of the Biennale of Sydney. She was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2008.

Chris McDiven AM

Chris McDiven AM is a prominent non-profit administrator. She is currently Vice President of the Rotary Club of Sydney as well as non-executive director for the Together For Humanity Foundation, and chair of the organising committee for the Rotary International Presidential Peacebuilding Conference Sydney 2018. Past roles have included chair of the Powerhouse Museum Fundraising Committee, chair of the Schizophrenia Research Institute, and on the committee of Keep Australia Beautiful.

Shauna Jarrett

Shauna Jarrett is an experienced senior executive and non-executive director skills in strategic design and execution across the educational, legal, arts and community sectors. She currently owns her own legal practice specializing in governance advice and implementation. In her previous role at the University of Sydney, she advised on strategic governance and management of University entities and projects. She was previously Director of the Arts Law Centre and currently serves on the Board of Force Majeure.

Sara Watts

Sara Watts has been a non-executive, independent or executive director for more than a decade as well as currently serving as Chairman of the Audit Committee for the Victorian Auditor-General and Director of Vision Australia. She has worked in a number of areas, including information and communications technology, arts, disability and state government. Sara is also the Immediate Past Chairman of Sydney Philharmonia Choirs and a former CFO of IBM.