New Appointment To Committee

New Appointment To Committee

Western Australia Minister for Disability Services Simon O’Brien

Advocate Appointed As Independent Chair Of Ministerial Advisory Committee

Victor P Taffa

Disability Services Minister Simon O’Brien has announced the appointment of Samantha Jenkinson as new chairperson of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Disability.

The Ministerial Advisory Council is an important independent source of information and advice about the views and needs of people with disability in Western Australia.

Members include people with Disability, Parents, Carers and Professionals working in Disability Services.

Previously the Deputy Chair, Ms. Jenkinson has worked in Employment Services, Policy and advocacy for people with Disability and is committed to community education and raising awareness.  Ms. Jenkinson has also worked as a case manager.

“Samantha brings personal experience as a person with a disability as well as a depth of knowledge about key issues and excellent leadership skills and experience.” Mr. O’Brien said.

“She is a very effective communicator and has often represented various organisations and groups in providing submissions to local, State and national bodies examining issues such as long-term care and support and other topics of critical importance.”

“Her advocacy skills will be greatly appreciated as we continue to work towards the vision of all people living in welcoming communities, providing mutual support, citizenship and a fair go for everyone.” Mr. O’Brien said.

Ms. Jenkinson is also the Co-Chair of the Disability Future Directions Advisory Committee which is assisting with the implementation of the 15-year strategy Count Me In – Disability Future Directions.

She has previously held the position of chairperson and acting chief executive officer of the peak consumer representative body AFDO (Australian Federation of Disability Organisations).

Three other new members have also been appointed Samantha Connor, Jacqueline Reid and Dr. Katie Ellis.

The Minister also thanked outgoing chair Ms. Jackie Softly for her six years of service to the council.

“Ms. Softly has made a huge contribution to further the interests and participation of people with disabilities, their families and carers in community life.” Mr. O’Brien said.