National Rugby League Grand Final Season 2019

National Rugby League Grand Final Season 2019

Eastern Suburbs Defeat Canberra In Season 2019 NRL Grand Final

Victor P Taffa

Sydney Roosters nee Eastern Suburbs have defeated Canberra 14-8 in the season 2019 NRL Grand Final.

Grand Final resembled an arm wrestle of inches as both sides defended ferously. As such Sam Verrills scored a try for Eastern Suburbs in the 6th minute and Jack Wighton scored a try for Canberra in the 30th minute.

Both tries were converted however, Latrell Mitchell booted a penalty goal in the 20th minute that allowed the Eastern Suburbs side to go into the half time break with an 8-6 lead.

After half time both sides hit each other hard although James Tedesco crossed for a try in the 72nd minute for Eastern Suburbs which was duly converted.

Sydney Roosters nee Eastern Suburbs defeated Canberra 14-8 to win Back-To-Back Premierships and their 15th title overall.


Retention Of Club Records

When both the AFL and NRL competitions were formed from state-based competitions it was agreed that from Day 1 clubs could retain Grand Final records.

Sydney Roosters nee Eastern Suburbs having won 15 Premierships are now equal with stand alone club St. George Dragons who have won 15 Premierships including a world record 11 successive Grand Finals between 1956-66.

Since their forced merger with Illawarra Steelers, St. George/Illawarra Dragons have won just 1 Premiership in season 2010.

Stand-alone club Sydney Roosters nee Eastern Suburbs having won 15 Premierships have now won 4 Grand Finals under their new name.

At least Sydney Roosters nee Eastern Suburbs are still a stand-alone club.


St. George/Illawarra Dragons And Cronulla Sharks Merger Rumours

Recently, Editor Victor P Taffa heard that the NRL was wanting to merge St. George/Illawarra Dragons with Cronulla Sharks. St. George and Cronulla-Sutherland are arch enemies and any possible merger will fail in the same way that the Manly-Warringah and North Sydney Bears merger failed.

Forcing teams to merge ignores the people who follow their teams are as loyal to their clubs in the same way that many people are loyal to either the Liberal or Labor Parties.

While football is a business, without people there is no game. People walk away from the game when their club is forced into a merger.

St. George Dragons as a stand-alone club won 11 successive Grand Finals largely to the astute management of Club Administrator Frank Facer.

Frank Facer ensured that the best players came to St. George and St. George for 11 consecutive seasons dominated Rugby League.

Club Mergers were not in the vocabulary and people were happy. Rugby League was successful. St. George’s stand-alone club success against their merged club success speaks volumes of what works and what does not work.


Grand Final Records

St. George Dragons

Year Entered Competition: 1921

Year Left Competition: 1998 (Formed Joint Venture Merged Club)

Home Ground: Kogarah Jubilee Oval

1st Grade Premierships: (15) 1941, 1949, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1977, 1979,

Runners-Up: (12) 1927, 1930, 1933, 1942, 1946, 1953, 1971, 1975, 1985, 1992, 1993, 1996,


St. George/Illawarra (Joint Venture Merged Club)

Year Entered Competition: 1999

Year Left Competition:

Home Ground: Kogarah Jubilee Oval

1st Grade Premierships: (1) 2010,

Runners-Up: (1) 1999,


Sydney Roosters (Originally Eastern Suburbs)

Year Entered Competition: 1908

Year Left Competition:

Home Ground: Sydney Football Stadium (Normally)

1st Grade Premierships: (15) 1911, 1912, 1913, 1923, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1940, 1945, 1974, 1975, 2002, 2013, 2018, 2019,

Runners-Up: (15) 1908, 1919, 1922, 1928, 1931, 1934, 1938, 1941, 1960, 1972, 1980, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2010,


Week 4 Grand Final Match Summary

Sunday 6 October 2019

Eastern Suburbs v Canberra

Venue: ANZ Stadium

Attendance: 82,922

Full Time Score: 14-8

Half Time Score: 8-6


Eastern Suburbs: Sam Verrills, James Tedesco

Canberra: Jack Wighton


Eastern Suburbs: Latrell Mitchell 2

Canberra: Jarrod Croker

Penalty Goals:

Eastern Suburbs: Latrell Mitchell

Canberra: Jarrod Croker

Field Goals:

Eastern Suburbs:



Match Point Values

Tries worth 4 Points

Conversions worth 2 Points

Penalty Goals worth 2 Points

Field Goals worth 1 Point


National Rugby League Final Standings Season 2019

2Eastern Suburbs241770136
3South Sydney 241680134
4Canberra 241590132
9Wests Tigers2411130124
13New Zealand249141121
14North Queensland249150120
15St. George/Illawarra248160118
16Gold Coast244200110


Premiership Point Values

Wins worth 2 Premiership Points

Draws worth 1 Premiership Points

Byes worth 2 Premiership Points


SCG                Sydney Cricket Ground

NRL                National Rugby League

AFL                Australian Football League