Multicultural Awards To Be Presented On 7 February 2011

Multicultural Awards To Be Presented On 7 February 2011

Western Australia Minister for Citizenship & Multicultural Affairs John Castrilli

Nominations Sought For Prestigious Multicultural Community Service Awards

Victor P Taffa

Citizenship and Multicultural Interests Minister John Castrilli today invited Nominations for the 2011 Western Australian Multicultural Community Service Awards.

Mr. Castrilli said the awards recognised individuals and organisations dedicated to improving service delivery and removing cultural barriers.

“There are so many organisations and individuals working quietly behind the scenes to advance multiculturalism and so capture the social and economic benefits we gain from migration and settlement.” the Minister said.

“The Western Australian Multicultural Community Service Awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge the positive contributions in the areas of empowering West Australians from Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CaLD) backgrounds, combating racism and promoting social justice.”

This Year’s Awards Feature three Categories:

• Individual,

• Organisational,

• Business Migrant of the Year.

The Individual section is open to all members of the Western Australian Community and recognises individuals who promote the ideals of multiculturalism.

The Organisational Category is Made up of Three Awards:

• The ‘Community Service Excellence Award’ for Non-Governmental Organisations who achieve excellence in advancing Multiculturalism;

• The ‘Engaging the Community Innovation Award’ – Recognising mainstream service providers who have implemented programs to engage and promote culturally and linguistically diverse (CaLD) Communities;

• The ‘Implementing Multiculturalism Locally Award’– Recognising WA Local Governments that have implemented principles of multiculturalism through innovative planning, reporting and community engagement.

The final category is the Business Migrant of the Year Award which acknowledges an outstanding business owned and operated by a person from a CaLD Background.

Nominations close at 5pm on Monday, February 7, 2011 and the awards will be presented on March 14, 2011.