MRA And LandCorp Boards Merge From 1 January 2018

MRA And LandCorp Boards Merge From 1 January 2018

Western Australia Minister for Planning and Lands Rita Saffioti

Common MRA-Landcorp Board Members Announced

Victor P Taffa

  • New board members to drive land agency reform
  • George McCullagh to chair both boards

Common board members who will oversee the task of merging the Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority (MRA) and LandCorp have now been appointed.

Members will serve on both the MRA and LandCorp boards effective from January 1, 2018 as the first step of the McGowan Government’s land agency reforms.

“This reform process will bring together the expertise and experience of both agencies.” Minister for Planning and Lands Rita Saffioti said.

“It will reduce duplication and improve the efficiency of government land developments.”


George McCullagh, who is currently LandCorp’s Deputy Chairperson, will be the new Chair of the Boards.

Mr. McCullagh’s previous experience as Chair of Statutory Reviews of LandCorp, the East Perth Development Authority, Subiaco Development Authority and the Midland Redevelopment Authority makes him especially qualified for the role.

He has also undertaken governance reviews for the WAPC and provided transition planning advice to agencies such as the Department of Water.

Other board members include:

  • Dale Page;
  • Rebecca Field;
  • Kylee Schoonens;
  • Simon Read;
  • Paul Lakey;
  • Jane Bennett (WAPC Representative).

Board members have expertise in governance, finance, planning, property law, land development, architecture and design excellence. Together they will drive reform and lead the consolidation of the 2 agencies by the start of 2019.

Second phase of the reform will be to progress the necessary legislative changes to further refine the consolidation and will reduce duplication through the provision of a single board for the new entity.