Minister Welcomes 37 New Electrical Apprentices For State Of New South Wales

Minister Welcomes 37 New Electrical Apprentices For State Of New South Wales

New South Wales Minister for Energy and Utilities Don Harwin

Apprenticeships Hardwire Talent For Future

Victor P Taffa

Regional New South Wales has received a skills boost with Essential Energy appointing 37 new apprentices across the state.

Minister for Energy and Utilities Don Harwin says the network operator is drawing on regional talent to solidify the network’s future.

“These new apprentices are joining an industry that provides an essential service to millions of people around the State.” Minister Harwin said.

“They’ll play an important role in providing a safe and secure network across regional New South Wales and will be very much part of the future of the industry.”

Apprentices are kick-starting their careers with a 3-week induction at one of the company’s 3 training centres at

  • Goulburn,
  • Grafton,
  • Parkes.

“These apprentices will take up roles at 28 depot locations on completion of the training the new recruits will support Essential Energy’s efforts to enhance network reliability and support regional development in New South Wales.” Minister Harwin said.

This unique pre-work induction instils in apprentices both the theory and practical components they need to adopt and maintain Essential Energy’s safety and customer service culture.

Majority of new recruits will be trained as powerline workers, with other opportunities also available.

“It’s great to see a diverse mix among the new recruits with both school leavers and mature age apprentices with previous experience in the workforce. 11 of the recruits are female.”

“24 apprentices who graduated in 2017 have been appointed to permanent roles within the business.” Minister Harwin said.

2018 new recruits will be located at:

  • Albury,
  • Balranald,
  • Barraba,
  • Casino,
  • Crookwell,
  • Deniliquin,
  • Dorrigo,
  • Dubbo,
  • Dungog,
  • Goondiwindi,
  • Goulburn,
  • Hillston,
  • Inverell,
  • Leeton,
  • Lismore,
  • Murwillumbah,
  • Narrabri,
  • Oberon,
  • Orange,
  • Port Macquarie,
  • Queanbeyan,
  • Tamworth,
  • Taree,
  • Tweed Heads,
  • Walgett,
  • Warren,
  • West Wyalong,
  • Yass.