Minister Welcomes 25 New Firefighters To The Ranks

Minister Welcomes 25 New Firefighters To The Ranks

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant

New Recruits Join FRNSW Firefighting Ranks

Victor P Taffa

After 3 months of gruelling training, today 25 recruit firefighters were welcomed to the Fire & Rescue NSW (FRNSW) ranks at a ceremony at the FRNSW State Training College at Alexandria.


Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant congratulated the new firefighters on successfully graduating and said that he was proud that this year’s recruits reflect the diversity and culture we see in society.

“These men and women are joining one of the most professional, skilled and advanced firefighting services in the world.” Mr. Grant said.

“They have proven themselves able to meet the challenges of the job, from firefighting and providing advanced first aid, to responding to road-crashes, fire science and what to do around hazardous materials.”

“I thank all the FRNSW firefighters and staff for their professionalism and enormous contribution to our emergency services.”

“Firefighters are called on to perform vital and sometimes dangerous work, but it is also an extremely rewarding career. I thank all recruits for putting their hand up and taking on this important job.” Mr. Grant said.

FRNSW Commissioner Paul Baxter said he was particularly proud to welcome the first recruits sworn in since he started in the role last month.

“Just like me, this graduating class of firefighters are new to FRNSW, and they want to prove to the people of NSW they are up to the job.” Commissioner Baxter said.

“I am confident they will uphold FRNSW’s reputation with the highest standards of integrity, courage and dedication.”

“It is a great pleasure to welcome these firefighters to the full-time ranks.” Commissioner Baxter said.

Fire And Rescue NSW Graduates 2017



Graduates will be taking up positions in the following areas:

Name:                                     Area:

Maxwell Cottingham              Ashfield

Ashley Wilkins                        Ashfield

Amy Andrews                        Balmain

Jennifer North                         Baulkham Hills

Ross Beeching                        Cessnock

Anika Ballantine                     City of Sydney

Cem Dincer                             City of Sydney

Kirsty Dodds                          City of Sydney

Marianne Ferrari                      City of Sydney

Gabrielle Lee                           City of Sydney

Grant Hardiman                      City of Sydney

Barton Hill                              City of Sydney

Matilda Quist                          City of Sydney

Jasmine Sarin                          City of Sydney

Jodie Wagner                          Concord

Josh Friffiths                           Darlinghurst

Joshua English                        Kellyville

Jiya Reardon                           Lane Cove

Scott Hardiman                       Marrickville

Scott Zucchetto                      Pyrmont

William Doyle                         Redfern

Karmell Frost                          Seven Hills

Joshua Hindle                         Silverwater

April Merlino                          Silverwater

Jamiee-Lee Starr                     The Rocks