Minister Signs Off On Second Round Local Government Clean Up Funding

Minister Signs Off On Second Round Local Government Clean Up Funding

Victoria Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell

Flood-Affected Councils Able To Access $2.2 Million In Extra Flood Assistance

Victor P Taffa

Flood-Affected Councils across Victoria will be able to access up to $100,000 in additional emergency relief payments to cover extra flood clean-up expenses, Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell announced today.

“The Victorian Coalition Government has made a further $2.2 Million in relief payments available under the $5 Million Local Government Clean Up Fund to assist communities clean up, recover and rebuild.” Mrs. Powell said.

Mrs. Powell said $1.6 Million in payments was provided in January and February through the fund, which is jointly administered by the Victorian Government and the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV).

“In addition to the $100,000 emergency relief payments already provided to Victoria’s 16 worst flood-affected councils, a further amount of up to $100,000 per council is being made available to cover further clean-up expenses.” Mrs. Powell said.

Mrs. Powell said there were now 28 councils that could immediately access the additional funding released by the Coalition Government.

“There are also 12 councils that have been less severely affected and these councils are eligible for up to $50,000 each to assist with their clean-up expenses. They include the City of Casey and Cardinia Shire Council, which were also affected by the February floods.” Mrs. Powell said.

Mrs. Powell, who will be visiting a number of the flood-affected councils in the next two weeks to listen to their concerns, said that each council would require a varying degree of financial assistance to recover.

“Following this second round of funding there is expected to be $1.2 million in remaining funds that will be made available for those councils with severe and ongoing flood damage.” Mrs. Powell said.

“The Chief Executive Officers of 28 Councils will be contacted and provided with details outlining how to apply for this second allocation of funding.”

The following 16 Councils will receive $100,000 from the second round of the Local Government Clean Up Fund:

  • Ararat Rural City Council
  • Buloke Shire Council
  • Campaspe Shire Council
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council
  • Corangamite Shire Council
  • Gannawarra Shire Council
  • Hepburn Shire Council
  • Hindmarsh Shire Council
  • Horsham Rural City Council
  • Loddon Shire Council
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • Mildura Rural City Council
  • Northern Grampians Shire Council
  • Pyrenees Shire Council
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council

The following 12 Councils will be eligible for up to $50,000 from the second round of the Local Government Clean Up Fund:

  • Ballarat City Council
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • Casey City Council
  • Glenelg Shire Council
  • Golden Plains Shire Council
  • Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Greater Shepparton City Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Moyne Shire Council
  • Murrindindi Shire Council
  • Warrnambool City Council
  • West Wimmera Shire Council