Minister Opens Maitland Hospital’s Expanded Haemodialysis Unit

Minister Opens Maitland Hospital’s Expanded Haemodialysis Unit

South Australia Minister for Health Jack Snelling

Boost To Lifesaving Treatment At Maitland Hospital

Victor P Taffa

Maitland Hospital’s newly expanded haemodialysis unit officially opened today, allowing more people to receive lifesaving treatment closer to home.

“This $635,000 State Government project is a wonderful example of Country Health and the local community working together to improve our local health facilities in regional areas.

Haemodialysis is critical for patients with kidney failure who require therapy several times per week for up to five hours each session.” Minister for Health Jack Snelling said.

“By having access to this vital treatment locally, it means more Yorke Peninsula residents can access haemodialysis closer to home, while the expansion will also help service the region’s large tourist population.”

An additional 2 renal chairs have been installed at the site, allowing the provision of dialysis for to up to 8 people a day and the potential to expand further in the future.

“Since the Maitland haemodialysis unit opened in March 2008, initially as a two-chair facility it has had up to 8 patients at a time.” Country Health SA Acting Chief Executive Officer Rebecca Graham said.

The project also included the construction of a new isolation room, specifically designed for infection control purposes, and installation of Telehealth technology, so that patients can speak with Adelaide-based specialists without having to travel long distances.

“The Health Advisory Council has been extremely appreciative and supportive of the haemodialysis unit at Maitland and this latest expansion of the service is brilliant.” Yorke Peninsula Health Advisory Council Presiding Member Rod Thomas said.


5 patients are currently accessing services at the new four-chair unit, with dialysis sessions offered 6 mornings per week.

There are currently 57 haemodialysis chairs available across country South Australia in units located at

  • Berri,
  • Ceduna,
  • Clare,
  • Gawler,
  • Maitland,
  • Mount Gambier,
  • Murray Bridge,
  • Port Augusta,
  • Port Lincoln,
  • Port Pirie,
  • Victor Harbor,
  • Whyalla.

A mobile dialysis unit also provides a visiting service to remote Aboriginal communities in the APY lands, Coober Pedy and Yalata.